Notes, Thoughts, Quotes, etc. from Sunday morning session with Geneen Roth, 9 AM – 11 AM

Focus on the food that is in my mouth, not on the food in my plate.

Focus on what I do have in that moment.

Focus on what I can find, not what I have lost.

I have food to eat.
I have water to drink.
I have a roof over my head.
I have a husband who adores me.
I have a beautiful son.
I have a great job.

5 things that I have enough of in my life:
– My son
– My house
– Loving husband
– Food
– Healthy and alive

I don't know what being satisfied with food feels like.  Whenever I think I'm satisfied, 10 – 15 minutes later I feel overfull.

Eat what my BODY wants to eat.

Recognize that I need support during this journey.

Learn to trust myself.

Support is crucial, I cannot do this alone.

Support is not advice.  Support is asking someone what that feels like.

Follow the inquiry qeustions in Women, Food and God.

Blaming anyone else or yourself never works.

To eat with pleasure, I need to be present.

To eat until satisfied, I need to be present.

Most compulsive eaters don't actually enjoy food.

Unless I am taking time on noticing, tasting, etc. with my food, I am not enjoying it.  I am not loving it.

Kindness, attention, love will heal.

There has to be structure to the support I get.

Without a structure already in place, sucess cannot happen.

Find something to immerse myself in, so I don't forget.

Get as many types of support that I can.

Post guidelines from Women, Food and God on refridgerator as a reminder.

I need to start listening to my body in different ways to discover what my body wants and not what my mind wants.

One hershey's kiss can taste better than the whole bag.

I need to learn to trust myself.

I need to learn to love myself.

It's not all about the food.

Hunger will not kill me.

Show myself the same compassion I show others.

Give myself attention, not food.

Food is not my enemy.

Grieve for what I won't allow myself to have and hopefully I will let myself have it.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

