Notes, Thoughts, Quotes, etc. from Saturday afternoon session with Geneen Roth, 2:00 PM – 3:45 PM

Lunch:

Turkey sloppy joe
Provolone cheese
Brown rice sushi salad
Watermelon
Tempeh sloppy joe
Cheddar cheese

I am a bit overfull.  The food was so good at lunch that I ate a little bit too much.  It's not like a binge overfull, but I missed my body's message of when it was satisfied somewhere along the way.  In the past, it would have been much worse.

Watch out for "The Voice".  The internal critic that tells you that you can't do this.  That wants to keep the status quo and does not want change to come.

The weekend retreat will help me decide if yes this is for me or no it isn't.  If yes, then there is work to do.  If no, I will find something else.

When I hear that voice in my head telling me that I can't do it, that it's not going to work, that is my fear talking to me.  My fear of failure and not being perfect.

The past doesn't matter and it cannot be changed.

Eat with the intetion of eating in full view of other people.

When I lie with food, I am saying I can't be seen for who I am.

Shame is the difference between what you do and what you think you are allowed to do.  What you feel and what you think you are allowed to feel.

My job is to only deal with judgements about myself.  It's not my job to figure out others.

The eating guidelines are pointers.  They are not rules.  They are not going to be followed all of the time.

It's time now to get in a group of six.   Each person gets one eating guideline and talks about it using the following four questions:

1.  What is my reaction to this eating guideline
2.  What is scary about it?  Would anyone else in my life be threatened by it?
3.  How would my life need to change?
4.  What is exciting about following the guideline?  What does this guideline invoke in you?

I am already planning to answer each of these questions in my journal when I get home.

What if food is not there when I really need it?

We get through the first two guidelines before it's time to break for the night.

We end with Geneen asking the following of us:

Notice tonight and tomorrow what you have arguments with while you eat.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

