Day 2 of the retreat went really well and really fast

I can't believe it's almost time to go home.

I've been writing pretty constantly since I got here.

Everytime I think of a thought, question, fear, observation, etc., I have been trying to write it down.

What I've gotten so far from listening to Geneen Roth is questions that I want to ponder and specific items that I want to work on.

I'm glad that I have spent years in therapy and have come to a pretty decent place before coming to this.  I'm really self aware and that is a good thing.

So many of the women I have observed are just looking for Geneen to give them the answer.  It's like they expected to come here and be "fixed" by her.  One woman sitting near me was already pretty angry by 10 AM this morning.  Sounded like she was expecting a luxury spa and not an ex-ashram.

The Kripalu Center is not a place to come if you want a luxury room.  I'm sitting here writing on my twin bed that is about 5 feet from my roomate's twin bed.  The bathroom is down the hall.

I have barely spent any time in my room though.  It is a beautiful campus in the Berkshire mountains.  All of my free time has been spent just enjoying myself by reading outside or going to the jacuzzi.  It's too beautiful to spend my time inside a bedroom.

Tonight I had a 105 minute massage.  I spent the majority of it trying to stay present and not let my mind wander so I could feel and enjoy every minute of it.  Nto an easy thing to do, but being so relaxed beforehand helped.

Tomorrow morning I plan on getting up for 6:30 AM yoga as it will be my last at Kripalu.

I look forward to silent breakfast again so I can really relfect on my food, how it tastes and my hunger signals.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

