First night with Geneen Roth is done and I am so glad that I came

I took a lot of great notes and with some great quotes and questions for myself that I plan to explore in therapy and through my journal in the upcoming weeks.  Two things that I learned tonight:

1.  I love food because it's my "friend".  It is always there for me unconditionally when I am happy, sad, lonely, bored, etc.

2.  Skinny people have eating/food problems too

I was suprised how many bulemics there are here.  How to me they look perfect and "normal".  They look the way I would want to look and if I saw them on the street, I would be envious of them.

One was in my group when we group into groups of four.  I had to thank her for reminding me that just because you aren't overweight doesn't mean you don't have food issues.

I will never envy being bulemic, because that is not healthy and not an issue I would want.

So as I lay here trying to fall asleep, I couldn't help but write down my feelings about it.

I am looking forwad to morning gentle yoga, silent breakfast and then more of Geneen.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

