Arriving at the Kripalu Center for the first day of the Women, Food and God workshop

The day that I have been waiting for has finally arrived.  It's Friday and it's time for my Women, Food and God workshop out in the Berkshires with Geneen Roth.

After a beautiful drive down the mass pike on a great sunny day, while listening to Dropkick Murphys the whole way, N and I arrived at the Kripalu Center right around 2:30.

After checking in, we went straight to N's room as she was in the dorms and wanted to get a bottom bunk. Luckily, she was the first to her room. There were 4 bunk beds total and she had her pick.

We then went up to my room which was TINY and very spartan. There was two twin beds with white sheets/blankets/pillows, a window, a sink, one closet to share and one chest of four drawers to share. My roomate had not arrived yet, so I took the bed away from the sink.

N and I wandered around a bit and tried to sit outside for a while. The second we sat down, two wild rabbits came running out to beg for food. They were definitely used to people and got quite close to us.

 

I so wanted to pick one up and pet one, but they were wild and I didn't want to get bit.

It was quite hot out there though and neither one of us was wearing sunscreen so both of us decided to go inside and get ready for the 4:15 Gentle Yoga class.

I forgot how much I truly love yoga.  I have not done yoga since before I was pregnant with my son (and he is three now).  I am definitely way thight and will try to make it to both Gentle Yoga classes tomorrow.

I need to find some time for yoga in my life.  I definitely felt more relaxed and just at peace when I was done.

My roomate was still not at the room when I left for the yoga class and I was started to get quite curious about her.  I had some anxiety about sharing a room with a stranger.  What will she be like?  Will we get along?  Will she be clingy?

I just received a text from A that she is waiting for me outside the dining room.  A is from the Weight Watchers 100+ community board that I post on for support.  We have known each other on the boards for years, but this is the first time we have had to meet face to face.

I'm really looking forward to trying the food at Kripalu.  Exploring the tastes of the food they prepare there while trying not to overeat.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arriving at the Kripalu Center for the first day of the Women, Food and God workshop

  1. Pingback: Getting my zen back at Kripalu… | nancygettinghealthy

Leave a Reply

