Band vs. Bypass vs. Sleeve vs. Other Options, etc.

Today when I went to my follow up appointment and I ran into someone who was in my post op class.

She had lost quite a bit of weight since we last saw each other and I have not lost as much.

She had GBS, I had Lapband.

I see her, smile and compliment her on how good she looks.

Her comment back to me? “You should have had bypass”.

I told her that I was still happy with my decision. I wanted to throttle her.

No matter which surgery you have had, keep in mind that decision was what was best for YOU.

We all have our reasons for choosing one over the other based on own own health and what was comfortable for us.

No surgery is “better” than the other.

Don’t ever let anyone tell you that your decision was the wrong one.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Band vs. Bypass vs. Sleeve vs. Other Options, etc.

  1. I can nip that in the butt for you!
    EVERYONE I KNOW but one person (my friend Angie) who has had GBS has gained a ton of weight back. That’s 3 out of 4. I think Angie knows even more people that have gained a lot back. I don’t mean just a little. They are back in the obese zone.
    Now, I do know one lady who had complications with the lapband like me. She had a revision and got the sleeve.
    SO! One good thing about the lap-band is that you take it off slower. There is a good side to that. You process your emotional shit. You will have less skin sagging than a GBS person. You have a greater chance of maintaining.
    You will get there!

    • Ya know, those situations will come out of the blue when you least expect them. What they say will feel like daggers or they are being very invasive. Most of the time you will be so caught off guard that you can’t think quick enough. That’s how it always seemed to hit me.
      You may think of clever responses to these rude people to make them think twice. I wish I had them. I bet Judith Martin does (Miss Manners).
      At this point for me, enough time has passed where people have forgotten that I used to be big or newer people didn’t know me back then. I am no longer the center of attention or whispered about which I like much better.
      In the archives of WLS there are a lot of stories of what people have dealt with.
      I’m just babbling out loud!

Leave a Reply

