Went to my WLS monthly support meeting tonight

I arrived about 10 minutes early because I wanted to talk to A who does the surgical scheduling and works for the surgeons. She had GBS about 10 years ago and knows how hard this journey is.

I told her about not feeling full and how even if I start to feel full, I can wait about 5 minutes and then eat more. Until I really thought about it, I didn’t even realize that I was finding my way around the band.

A did agree that I do need to work on the whole eating less thing, but it sounds like the band is emptying too quickly and therefore I might need another fill.

I had a great talk with A and I felt a lot better.

I now go to the earlier support group that is meant for people 6 months out or more. There was about 20 people there and the majority had GBS.

I sometimes wonder if I should have had GBS. It’s not like those people are all skinny and perfect, but sometimes I wonder if the other surgery would have been better for me and if I would have been more successful.

Although if Dr. B sees that he will just tell me that lap band people are never happy.

I am going to call Dr. B’s office and move up my appointment and talk to him about whether or not it’s all in my head or if I need another fill or both.

As part of the support group we did one of the nutritional quizzes on sparkpeople.com about portion sizes. I knew most of the answers and it was a good reminder on how even when I am portioning out my food, I am giving myself way too big of a portion to begin with.

I have trouble not eating what is on my plate and if I would just give myself a smaller portion to begin with then that might help.

I did track my food on myfitnesspal.com today for the first time since I got pneumonia.

I have my follow up with heart and wellness and it will be interesting to talk to them and see if they have any other suggestions beyond getting a fill.

Going to the monthly support group meeting is a big help though. I walked out of there with a “I can do this” feeling. Now just to work on keeping that feeling.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Went to my WLS monthly support meeting tonight

  1. alicroc says:

    I hope you don’t take this the wrong way..because its not meant maliciously…but when you said that you felt you were eating your away around the band…even if you had GBS…you can still find ways to “eat” around that too..i’ve heard…and its just as easy to fail with GBS by some people’s own admissions on these boards and by other stories I’ve read.
    I know you struggle with this a lot…i have fails too…its just straight commitment…NOT to the diet..but to yourself.
    I know it’s a tough journey…i know you’ve read my story too and know the issues I’ve had.
    I’m actually at a place where I’m not puking every time I eat. I’ve yo-yoed the same 3 lbs for about a month and a half…and i KNOW it was because I was stressed and drinking sugary pop (not diet). I’m still not over my sugary pop stint…but I was also sneaking carbs back in..BAD BAD ME….not bad carbs..but bad me for knowing i was doing i shouldnt. I cut the carbs and I’ve started a small downward spiral of losing again. I’m still struggling to break 217…i haven’t gotten underneath that yet.
    What I guess I’d say to you is….don’t cheat yourself of your own success. You know its not hte surgery that will make you successful…its your own mind. It took me a while to realize that…aboout a year after surgery to actually realize that. but once i did..i feel that it made life easier.
    Idk…just thoughts. Keep getting support! You’re doing the right thing by doing that.

    • nancykerins says:

      Not malicious at all.
      I’m all about hearing what I NEED to hear, not just rainbows and butterflies. 😉
      I think it’s one of those “grass is greener” moments.
      Thank you for your comments. I need to stop being so hard on myself.

Leave a Reply

