I’m definitely having a FML moment

 Wednesday was my 37th birthday.

I had a great "me" day planned.  Pedicure at 9:45, sushi lunch and then an hour and a half massage at 1:45.  Then out for dinner with my husband while my parents babysat my son.

None of this happened.

Instead, I went home from work around 2PM and ended up in bed with a 102 fever.  Went to the doctor yesterday to find out that I have PNEUMONIA!!!!!!  My husband and I actually had to laugh because it’s so rare that I even get sick at all.  It had to be something big to take me down.  I had actually slept so much of Wednesday that I didn’t even get to call the doctor until 4PM!

Today is my 10 year wedding anniversary.  My husband was already supposed to be away at a big pinball tournament, but now I’m completely alone, sitting in bed and trying not to move so I don’t have a coughing fit.

I am feeling a lot better today and the fever has broke (which is a huge help).

I’m just trying to rest and get better.

Last night my husband took my son to stay with his father and father’s girlfriend as I don’t want to risk getting my 3 year old sick.  He has already been exposed, but why continue exposure right?  Besides, my father in law is thrilled to have him all to himself for a weekend.

I do have some anxiety about this, but I have to accept it.  This is the first time that my son has been away from both me and my husband for more than a night.  Usually when one of us is away, the other one is with him.

It is good for him though and I’m sure he’ll do fine.  I do miss him terribly.

I do have to try to find a silver lining to this whole thing and right now that has to be the scale.  It’s way down thanks to my illness.

I know I’ll probably gain back a few pounds, but I want to see how I can minimize the weight I can gain back and continue losing.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m definitely having a FML moment

  1. nwhiker says:

    Wow. Talk about a bummer of a birthday! 😦 I’m sorry. And your anniversary too. Major 😦
    I hope you can make it up to yourself as soon as you feel better… which I hope happens soon!
    Take care!

  2. lappymeal says:

    Happy birthday! Sorry it was a bit of a bust.

Leave a Reply

