It’s a miracle!

I have not only brought lunch and breakfast to work for the last 4 days, but it’s been a healthy lunch and breakfast.

Not only is it healthy, but it actually tastes good too!

Plus I’ve actually tracked my food for the last 2 days and have started tracking for today too!

Hopefully I’ve started a new trend in my life! 😉

One of the key things that I need to focus on is finding healthy food that tastes good.  That is really huge to me.

I am a foodie and I think I always will be.  I take pleasure from really good tasting food.  It is a part of my nature that I don’t think will ever change.

I talked about this in therapy yesterday how I need to focus on continuing to find these recipes that I truly enjoy that are not high calorie/fat.

One of my favorites that I have been eating all week is Miso Chicken.  This is a recipe that I got out of a weight watchers cookbook a long time ago.

The taste is amazing and everyone I have served it to loves it and asks for the recipe.  It’s incredibly simple too:

24oz boneless/skinless chicken thighs (can use bone in as well)
1/3 cup red miso paste
1/3 cup orange juice
1/4 cup mirin
1 TBSP fresh ground ginger
1 tsp sesame oil

Whisk together miso paste, oj, mirin, ginger and sesame oil.  Place chicken in large bowl or baggie and pour marinade in/over.  Marinate for at least 2 hours and up to 24.  Grill or broil chicken.  Makes 6 servings (4oz of chicken each).

It tastes best grilled, but I have broiled it in the winter.  Tastes amazing for days so I usually make a big batch.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a miracle!

  1. nwhiker says:

    Mmmm… that looks delicious. I used to love miso soup but nobody else in my family does so I haven’t bothered to make it in forever. I’ll have to get some miso paste and try this!
    By the way, I hear you on wanting good food. It is -fat or thin- such a fundamental part of life, eating food that tastes good. It’s harder when you’re on a serious calorie budget.

Leave a Reply

