My hospital has all of these statistics

on health issues that have been resolved thanks to GBS or Lapband.

I wonder what the statistics are on people who develop health problems AFTER having the surgery?

I saw my PCP today.  My cholesterol continues to go up.  He knows that I have tried all of the lifestyle changes that I can try so now it’s medication time.

I’m just bummed about it.

I feel like I’m the only one out there that loses weight only to have health issues get worse.

*sigh*

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My hospital has all of these statistics

  1. catlips says:

    that is a bummer. what does your surgeon/nutritionist say about your cholesterol going up?

  2. I truly believe that the health problems/risks are not reported. When I was in the hospital with my complications, I continuously heard, “we see this all the time”. I’ve thought about alerting the FDA if that is the proper channel. They need to require it.

  3. nwhiker says:

    > I feel like I’m the only one out there that loses weight only to have health issues get worse.
    Sigh… Not blood chemistry, but let me tell you something. I never had knee problems. At my highest weight, I hiked and biked, with nary a twinge to my knees. Considering that I seriously injured one of them in grad school while mountain biking, I know I’m lucky.
    And then I started losing weight. And my knees stated to hurt. From the time I was about 25lbs down to about 50lbs gone, they were in serious pain all the time. Pissed me off to no end. I had changed nothing in my exercise pattern. I just lost some weight, took some of the load off and my knees “rewarded” me with… pain? What the fish, knees?
    Eventually they did settle down, and they’re fine now.
    In other words… I don’t think weigh loss is a universal cure for all that ails us. I’m sorry your cholesterol numbers aren’t responding. I’m betting, though of course not being a doctor, I have no expertise, that you’d probably have high numbers no matter your weight.
    Best of luck getting the damn number to go DOWN!

  4. daa_zle says:

    It is frustrating, but some people have high no matter their weight or lifestyle…
    you’ll have to keep concentrating on the benefits.
    The “after” effects stats are very blurry, depending on which way you want to look at it. I’m curious in straight facts too.

  5. bandita_1 says:

    Cholesterol
    My cholesterol went up last time I lost weight and I asked my cardiologist about it. He told me as you lose weight the fat temporarily stays in your blood stream altering your cholesterol. This is what he told me, but might be something worth checking out. Like you my cholesterol was better being heavier. Once you finish losing weight it should stabilize.

Leave a Reply

