Successful 10K Yesterday!

It’s amazing what a difference almost 50lbs gone and cooler weather makes!

Yesterday, I walked 10k in the NSMC Cancer Walk.  I raised $1300 for the walk.  It might even be more as a few more people might donate.

I do the walk for many reasons, but the biggest one right now is my Dad.  He is currently in remission with Leukemia.  I started doing this walk the year he told us about it (he has been diagnosed about 5 years before that).

Last year was the first year he was able to walk with us.  Here is a picture of us at the finish:

Last year we ended up doing the "family walk", which is only about 5K.  My dad had just gotten over pneumonia and it was about 90 out.  We were worried that with the heat and the recent illness, he would pass out.  He has a bad habit of pushing himself too hard and then being exhausted or getting sick afterwards. 

I have to admit that I don’t know if I could have done the entire 10K that year.  I barely made it through the 5K.  I was DYING.  Everything hurt.  I was exhausted.

This year we had great plans for the walk.  We even got custom team tshirts! 

Unfortunately my dad got sick last week with bronchitis, so he was unable to walk.  My sister was also supposed to walk this year, but had to have an unplanned procedure last Thursday and so she couldn’t walk either.

It was just me, my husband and my son this year.  The weather was a little humid, but otherwise overcast and in the 70s.  I felt like I could walk forever.  My husband was having trouble keeping up with me and I didn’t even feel like I was walking that fast!

We finished the walk in about 2 1/2 hours.  I could have easily have done it quicker, but having an almost 3 year old on the walk and a husband who walks SLOW doesn’t help.  Plus I would see people we would know and would stop along the way.

It felt really good to finish the walk with no problem.   I am a little sore in my shins today, but that is normal for me after a long walk.

Here is a pic from this year at the finish line:

I am tired today, but I feel good!

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Successful 10K Yesterday!

  1. lappymeal says:

    Congrats! You look great and you are brave for doing this.

  2. nwhiker says:

    !!!! You did good, woman!!!!!
    10k is not a small distance, and I do hope you’re proud of yourself!

Leave a Reply

