Back from a week in Savannah…

Had a crazy week last week.  It was very work hard/play hard. 

It’s funny how you don’t even consider going out after work on week nights, but at a conference you’ll go out until all hours of the night with no problem and then get up for sessions at 8AM.

Food wise, the conference wasn’t bad.  One of the things that was nice was a lot of the meals were not buffet, but served.  Even when it was buffet though, I kept it pretty under control.  I tried to fill my plate up with salad.  I stayed away from the deserts in general.  I gave into deserts twice, but considering how many opportunities there were, I’m thinking I’m still doing well.

One night though, the salmon they were serving was so dry, it got stuck and I ended up having to leave the table VERY quickly.   I was lucky that as I was walking to the bathroom, the food passed.  I thought it was coming up and I was just praying I could make it to a bathroom in time.

When I got back to the table, a couple of people asked me if I was ok (because it was BEYOND obvious that something just happened) and I explained to them about the band and how something got stuck.

It’s funny how food getting stuck was one of my biggest fears about the band and now it’s not a huge deal to me.  I’m glad it’s not an everyday thing and the majority of the time it happens, it is because I’m not chewing well enough.  I am starting to have some trouble with baked goods though, but I don’t feel that is a bad thing.  I can survive without danish or muffins.

I have found that walking around helps a lot when something feels like it’s not going to go through.  At first, I thought I had to puke, but now if I just walk around when it happens, I can usually avoid puking.

I had a lot of fun at the conference.  A lot of dancing and walking around.  A good thing since I didn’t make it to the hotel gym.

It was really humid in Savannah and I did feel a little bit bloated when I came back, but I felt good that the scale was the same when I came back from when I had left.  Maintains in these situations are always a good thing.  The scale is already coming down again and I got back to the gym Tuesday, last night and already have my gym bag packed for tonight.

I see my surgeon for a follow up after that last fill.  I am not feeling at all like I need a fill so it should be a quick appointment.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

