Monthly support group meeting tonight

Tonight’s monthly support group meeting had a presentation by a plastic surgeon that works with the hospital regarding body contouring after weight loss.

I have to admit that loose skin was not something that I even thought about until I was told that I had to think about it.

I know it’s a big concern of people who need to lose a significant amount of weight, but it’s one that I have a heard time identifying with.

I will probably have a lot of loose skin.  I will probably not be able to afford surgery.  I’m ok with that.  My goal in losing weight is not about looking hot naked.

I just find that so many people get wrapped up with loose skin and how they are going to look after they lose the weight.  It feels like to me that unless they have a perfect beach body, it’s not worth it.

It’s just something I have chosen not to stress about.

I feel like if I have loose skin after losing weight, that is a consequence of the way I treated my body for so long.   If someday I have the extra cash to fix it, maybe I will.  I just have enough to worry about right now without thinking about that now.

I just want to be healthy and I want to be able to shop in the mall in the regular clothes sizes. 

I know why they had the surgeon come and do the presentation, but I would rather have a meeting when we talk about the actual surgery and the issues with losing the weight. 

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

