Since I was asked about it in a comment, I am going to come clean…

I have not worn my CPAP since February.  It is sitting on my night table, taking up room and collecting dust.

I have no urge to wear it.

I was supposed to have a follow up with my pulmonologist a couple of months ago.  They called to reschedule.  I asked them to call me back because I was super busy at the time.  They never called back.  I never called them.

I know it’s bad that I don’t wear it and I know I should probably make an appointment instead of being a non-compliant patient.

Instead of packing it up and putting it in the closet like I’ve been thinking of doing, I really should wash it up and wear it.

Most likely though, it’s going in the closet.

I have so much to deal with that I had to let something drop and this was it.  I never adjusted to wearing it and it did not make me feel better.  Most nights that I tried to wear it, it either kept me from falling asleep or woke me up many times in the middle of the night until I finally ripped the thing off.

If you are reading this and are supposed to be on CPAP, I do not recommend following my example.  It is not a good one and well I can’t say that it’s the right thing to do.  Right now though, it’s the right thing for me.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Since I was asked about it in a comment, I am going to come clean…

  1. Throw it out!

    If it doesn’t work for you, then you don’t have to do it.
    You don’t have to do something that:
    1)Doesn’t make you feel good! (ummm, hello!)
    2)Keeps you from falling asleep!
    3)Wakes you up in the middle of the night!

    As you become healthier, you don’t need to continue with contraptions that go along with being obese OR what is the point of losing.

Leave a Reply

