Just had a really great session with my therapist

I had an appointment with my therapist this afternoon and I told her everything that I have been writing about.

One of the things that I said to her was, "what will it take for me to lose weight again?" when I was talking about my frustrations.

From that sentence, she brought up a very good point.

I wasn’t completely owning my part in this.  I wasn’t saying, "What do I need to do to lose weight again?".

We talked a lot about how I need to start owning it more.  Becoming self aware is great.  Recognizing my feelings is great.

Now I need to decide what is more important to me.  Is that pint of Ben and Jerry’s more important than losing weight?  Will the 5 minutes of satisfaction and then days of beating myself up really be worth the taste?

I need to remember that the choice is mine.  The choice has always been mine.  I keep doing all of this work to help myself, but not fully committing to that choice.

I also am still focusing on being too perfect in all aspects of my life and when I’m not perfect, I eat.  I need to accept that I am not perfect and that I’m human.

The session gave me a lot to think about.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just had a really great session with my therapist

  1. daa_zle says:

    I have to thank you posting this. I was about to run out at lunch and stop and pick something up. I have been craving French Fries, no idea why. I read this post, went out and did errands and came back to my office where I had some hummus and oatbran pita waiting for me!
    Lately, “I” have not been making the best choices. I tell myself “I can have it this time”, but this time has turned into too many this times.

Leave a Reply

