I woke up this morning with hope (and a little less bloated)

The first thing I do most mornings is go to the bathroom and then weigh myself.  I’m still unsure if my daily weighing is a good or a bad habit (or both), but I do know that when I’m feeling good, I weigh myself and when I’m not eating healthy, I avoid the scale.  So at the moment, I consider it a good habit.

There are some days when I want to avoid the scale, that I remind myself of something I once heard in a weight watchers meeting:

You weigh the same whether you step on that scale or not.

It’s true.  Not stepping on the scale doesn’t mean that I didn’t gain or my weight isn’t what it is.  When I want to avoid the scale, I remind myself of that fact.

The scale said 276 this morning.  Looks like a lot of my bloat is gone.  It gives me hope that even though the beginning of my week did not contain a lot of healthy eating, it might not been as bad as I thought.  The band is helping me because I’m not truly gaining.  Now I need to help myself lose.

I did track my entire day yesterday.  I stayed under the 1500 calorie goal that I have for myself.

I think the fill is going to help me mentally even if it doesn’t help me physically.  I feel more confident this morning that I can do this.

When I saw the 276, my first though was, "Yay!  Only 5lbs go to to 50lbs".  It felt attainable again.

My goals for this weekend are:

Exercise Friday, Saturday and Sunday
Plan my meals
Food shop
Cook
Track every bite
Take one day at a time
Look back at my food journals and print out days that I ate really healthy

Even though I have hope, I want to make sure that I don’t get too far ahead of myself.  That is when I self sabotage.

I also want to start writing more often.  I have been so busy at work that I haven’t felt like getting on the computer for much else.  When I was losing, I was writing more often and getting my feelings out here.  I think it will help if I continue to do that.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I woke up this morning with hope (and a little less bloated)

  1. nwhiker says:

    When I saw the 276, my first though was, “Yay! Only 5lbs go to to 50lbs”. It felt attainable again.
    Fingers crossed that you’ll be there in no time flat.
    I weigh-in once a week, at WW, but waaaaaaaaaaaaay back when I lost a bunch of weight on my own (regained because it was too low carb and I, personally, could not sustain that). Anyhow, what I did back then was actually to weigh myself every day. At the end of the week, I’d average the weights, and compare that average to the previous week’s average to figure out if I was losing. It smoothed out the days of bloat (omg, I’m up 3lbs…. yay! I lost 3.2!) and the artificially “skinny” days. Anyhow.
    Good luck!

    • nancykerins says:

      Thanks!
      What I’ve been trying to do with my daily weighing is to only record the weight once a week. I picked Monday. I do my best to recognize fluctuations and use it to inspire me to track.

Leave a Reply

