So much for being invisible…

When I started this blog and then later agreed to have it linked on the NSMC website, I was comfortable with it because I was still invisible.

My first name is on this blog, but that is it.  No last name, no pictures.

Well now that is changing.

The Salem News was doing an article on the 10 year anniversary of the weight loss surgery program at NSMC and asked to interview me as they had read the blog and liked what I had to say.

I have to admit that I was really hesitant at first to be interviewed, but I decided to do it anyway.

I was really honest about everything and started freaking out about it about 10 minutes after the interview as I felt I was too honest.  I gave a little bit too much of me.  I told him my real weight!

So the article finally came out today.  You can see it here:

A Weighty Decision

I’m still not fully comfortable with it being out there, but I think I will someday.

I actually had some random person in the hospital hallway say something to me already because they had read the article moments before and recognized me.

I’m just going to keep repeating to myself, this is a good thing.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So much for being invisible…

  1. nwhiker says:

    Oh good for you! That’s awesome!
    The article was good, the photo was good!
    I hope you get loads of positive feedback for this. I really think that seeing success, real, slow-but-solid HUMAN scale success (as opposed to the success on those crazy shows that I’ve just read about, but don’t watch because, um, no TV!), helps change perceptions of what reality re weight loss, and thus might spare others some grief.
    Again, good for you!

Leave a Reply

