Signed up for the NSMC Cancer Walk last night

This will be my 4th year in a row doing the NSMC Cancer Walk.

Last year the walk was so hard.  I was at my heaviest and it was just so hot out that day.

We did the short version of the walk because my dad had only be recovered from having pretty severe pneumonia for a couple of weeks and being so hot out, we were worried about him.

My dad is currently in remission for CLL Leukemia.  He did a 6 month round of chemo almost two years ago (wow, has it really be that long?) and had quite a few bumps along the way.  First round, he had a stroke and amazingly the clot cleared and he recovered.  Second round, he passed out.  Last round, he has a mini-stroke.

Since he finished chemo in June of 2009, things have been pretty good except for a bad bout of pneumonia and another mini stroke that happened during that time.

My father is currently in remission and has had a really healthy year.

My mother is also a survivor.  When I was 19, she had uterine lining cancer that was caught quickly.  She had to have a hysterectomy and radiation just to be sure.

We have had so many family members pass away due to cancer.  Too many to even list here.  My mother’s mother died when she was 19.  My father lost one of his sisters when she was only in her 50’s.  My husband lost his grandmother soon after we got married.  So many more.

I walk in honor of all of those who survived as well as in memory of all of those we have lost.

I’m really excited about the walk this year.  I’m currently 45lbs less than I was last year and hopefully by June 26th, I’ll lose even more.

I was glad to use my dad as an excuse to do the short walk last year as it was so hot and I don’t think I could have actually done the whole thing.

This year, with so much weight gone, I’m hoping that even if it is unusually hot again, I’ll be able to do the 10k with no problem.

If you would like to donate or join me on the walk, you can see my page by going to http://nsmcgiving.partners.org/nancyekerins.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Signed up for the NSMC Cancer Walk last night

  1. daa_zle says:

    I have also walked for cancer many times. My group also donates to Breast and Ovarian Research every year.
    Glad t hear your father is doing much better!
    What a great feeling you will have after conquering the course without much effort! Your dedication to exercise and the weight loss will have you walking the course without straining yourself!

Leave a Reply

