I graduated my 12 week post op risk reduction program today

I can’t believe how quickly it went by.

One of the greatest things that I got from this 12 week program was just amazing support.  A couple of the people in the class had read the blog and came up to me to say stuff today.

One just came up and said, "I want you to know that I think you are awesome".  I didn’t even know she read the blog.  It made me want to cry out of happiness.

We are allowed to go back to the class part of the program at anytime and I will definitely be stopping by when I can to help keep going and to give and get support.

I did speak with one of the people who runs the program about my recent gains/losses and I think I do need a fill.

My surgeon sees me every 6 weeks or so and does see the big picture, but since the last time I saw him, I seem to be gaining and losing the same 2lbs.  I also can definitely eat a lot still and do not have enough restriction.

The band is a tool and I need to make healthy choices on my own.  When I don’t make those healthy choices though, I need the band to stop me.  

I should not have been able to eat a whole chimichanga, chips and queso, rice and beans and then gone onto the movies and eat a movie theater portion of skittles.

I will continue on working on making better choices though in general and working with my therapist about my food issues.

The great thing about the post op program at NSMC is once you "graduate" from the post op program, they still follow up with you.   I have a follow up appointment in 6 weeks and I will continue to see the nutritionist and the nurse practitioner for the next 5 years.

I did also join weight watchers online again today and am going to start counting points instead of calories.  Even though I’ve gotten used to counting calories, I think points are a better way for me to track in general.  Every time I have had some success before surgery, it was through the weight watchers points program. 

Today has been a good day eating wise and now I just need to work on not going nuts with snacks once my son goes to bed.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I graduated my 12 week post op risk reduction program today

  1. nwhiker says:

    I think you are pretty awesome too. And welcome (back) to Weight Watchers!
    Seriously, though. You are self-aware, and that is such a freaking major step. You own up to mistakes, and work towards moving past them. You know the band is a tool and not a magic wand (damn. Wouldn’t THAT be nice?).
    From reading, it looks to me like you have all the pieces in places, you just need to jigger them around a bit: get the fill, which will provide, in a way, the guide-rails you might need at this point.
    I dunno. I’ve seen spirals before, of the -ahem- upwards kind, iykwimaityd (and yeah, btdt), and the main characteristic of it on a blog? People stop posting. Poof. Gone. Sometimes they come back a year later and admit to what happened. (Not just weight, btw. A woman whose blog I used to read was working on reducing her 10s of thousands in credit card dept. Then she was gone… two years later, she was back, admitting that she’d fallen off the wagon, changed 25k and was getting back on track again. Then gone again…). So by writing, you’re keeping yourself accountable.
    Also, I don’t know much about CPAPs, but if you aren’t using it, could you be extra tired, in addition to that EVIL loss of an hour which is probably making things feel worse this week? Anyhow.
    But I blather.
    Know that I’m thinking about you, wishing you the best, and if there is anything I can do to help, lemme know. I’ve never dealt with lap band before, but the whole weight thing? Yeah. And even when you know something, it sometimes helps to hear someone say it.
    Take care.

Leave a Reply

