Sedation dentistry rocks!

As I posted about before, I have an incredible, irrational fear of anything involving the drill at the dentist.  I start to have  panic attacks just thinking about anything drilling into my teeth.

I can’t even remember the last time I went to the dentist.

It’s time for my son to start going and I need to be a good example for my son, so I decided to find a sedation dentistry place.

I went for my new patient intake appointment on February 25th at Varinos Dental in Peabody.

This place is very different than what I had been to before.  In the past, my dentist was my mother’s cousin.  He did all of the work himself.

This place was huge.  It has several hygenists and dentists.  It was really bright and clean.  Everything was transparent (which is a good thing in the health care/dentistry world).  As the girl gave me the tour, I could see the sterilizing stations, etc.

Everything is digital at this place.  They did the xrays and they immediately came up on the computer.  They even had a full jaw xray where you stand up and the machine spins around your head.

The girl was pretty amazed at how good my teeth were considering it was years since I had been to the dentist.  My husband ended up needing to have a special cleaning involving novocaine because he has gum disease from not going.

Another difference at this place is if there is the teeniest little hole, even if it doesn’t show up on the xray, they fill it.  My old dentist would let the holes get bigger so they were "worth" filling.  So I had one cavaty that showed up on the xray and 4 additional little ones.

One thing that made me feel better about my dental panic is they asked me if I needed to be sedated for the cleaning.  I decided to be awake for the cleaning since that had never bothered me.  I made an appointment for the cleaning on March 3rd and for the sedation/cavaties on March 10th.

Their sedation is done orally.  They gave me some valium to take the night before and some Triazolam to take one hour before the appointment.

The one thing that does suck is you have to take the entire day off of work and have someone drive you.  It was worth it though considering past panic attacks.  Insurance doesn’t cover the sedation either so you have to be willing to pay a couple of hundred for it.  Again, worth it.

By the time we got there, I was already starting to fall alseep.  I fell asleep in the waiting room and remembered someone from Varinos waking me up and taking me to the dental chair.  After that, I remember nothing.

I woke up in my own bed around 3PM.  I woke up my husband because I thought i missed the appointment!  When he told me it was done, I went back to sleep until around 7PM.  I got up for a couple of hours, ate dinner, watching a little TV and then went back to sleep for the night.

I woke up this morning and went to Aqua Zumba.  I have a little bit of a hangover, but it’s also dark and rainy today so sometimes I feel like this anyway on rainy days.

I didn’t have any of that jaw pain that you normally have from novocaine.  They did tell me that they give you some though because pain can disturb the sedation.

5 cavaties done and over with, no pain, no panic!

I’m so glad that I did this and will definitely go for my 6 month checkup (already scheduled).

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sedation dentistry rocks!

  1. nwhiker says:

    That does sound nice. Good for you for going and getting it done.
    Also, FWIW… ped dentistry? OMG. It’s changed. My kids love going to the dentist, and say things like ‘we GET to go to see Dr Rama!? Yay!’. They have no fear, love the whole experience. My youngest has been known to start crying when we go by the dentist’s building and she doesn’t “get” to go. I hope as good a time for your little guy!
    I have some unexpected dental work once (imagine the surrealness of this: a purple haired 40 something woman, crying, and being hugged by her dentist. This was NOT my best day!), and they offered me sedation (and even free!), but I turned it down, I am SO scared of not being… myself.
    Anyhow, my dream? General, all my dental work, and a tattoo on my ankle, all done at the same time, painlessly! Heh.

  2. nancykerins says:

    I never even went to a ped dentist.
    Hopefully Aaron will feel the same way as your kids.

  3. daa_zle says:

    I need some work and have been putting it off myself….my dentist, although very gentle, does not sedate and I need 2 teeth pulled. I will look into this! Thanks for posting and happy that you are now getting over your fear of the dentist!

Leave a Reply

