Support group tonight drove me crazy!!!

 The only thing that drives me a bit nutty about the program at my hospital is that there is one support group for pre and post op patients.

After 8 months post op, there is a long term group.

In some ways it’s good, because as a pre-op, you get to ask lots of questions of the post op people and find out what it’s like.

As a post of person though, it just feels like a meeting to answer all of the pre-ops questions.

I know of a lot of people who don’t want to bother with the hospital support group meetings until they can go to the long term one.

I know it’s what we make of it and if more post-op people would show up, talk and ask questions, it wouldn’t be like that, but that isn’t the case.

Then I get driven batty by people who are just there to tell the whole room excuses about why it won’t work for them or how they are just doing this because they want to lose the weight fast.

Guess what????  You might lose fast, but you still have to change!

And no matter how much you exercise and weight train, you can’t tone skin so you might still have loose, flabby skin!  Get over the loose skin thing now and start saving for plastic surgery if you are that worried about it.  It’s a consequence of the lifestyle we have chosen to lead.

Maybe you’ll luck out and win the genetic lottery and not have it, maybe you won’t.

Who cares about being healthy though!  If you aren’t going to be perfect and have a bikini body within 2 months the surgery isn’t worth it!

Oh and the surgery makes you perfect!  You never overeat again right?  You will be super dedicated and go to the gym every day and eat perfectly because you had the surgery, right?

What do you mean I can’t have caffeine for a year?  Life without coffee?  NEVER!  You mean I’m going to have to give up things in order to be healthy?

I feel like no matter how many times post-op patients talk about how they aren’t perfect, the surgery is just a tool and that you need to work on your head, some people will just never get it.

Surgery is not a magic fix.  Surgery is not the easy way out.

I sometimes think that one on one therapy should be a requirement of the surgery.  There is so much more to work on than just losing the weight.  I’ll be amazed if some of these people pass the psych eval.

Ok rant over.  I’m going to bed now.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Support group tonight drove me crazy!!!

  1. alicroc says:

    i remember when i WAS going to my doc’s for fills..that i’d sit in the office and here a bunch of GB patients talking about what they missed eating, what “chocolatey” supplements they were enjoying this week, and ways they could cheat and eat “forbidden” foods.
    it really sickened me.

    • nancykerins says:

      Ugh! For me there is no cheating. My goal is life is to learn to eat in moderation. To be “normal”.
      I have spent a lot of time in therapy working on not giving food “morality”. Food is not “good” or “bad”.
      I don’t want anything to be forbidden. I just want to work on eating healthy and then having a treat once in a while.

  2. wls_nicoleta says:

    I get SO ANNOYED by people who just wan the surgery to “look hot.”
    I got the gastric bypass because I got sick and tired of feeling like I was going to die every time I went up my 3 front steps…

  3. daa_zle says:

    I understand where you are coming from. I think it would be good if they had a separate session for post op. I had to miss last one, but all the others I have gone through consist of all the same questions and answers. Mostly pre-op Pre-op questions are very important but you can tell the people who are hesitant and I feel not ready yet.
    This is a life altering procedure…. all types of WLS.
    I can remember thinking Well, I will no longer be able to eat my favorite pasta, or bread….I still went ahead with the surgery, thinking I would no longer be able to have them, as it worked out I can, but I was willing to forgo those for the rest of my life, that is how committed I was.
    I also had to do a 6 month program in order for my insurance to pay for the surgery. During that 6 months is when I stopped coffee and drinking out of straws ect.. and started to realize what life would be like for me from that point on. It helped me envision life and I was fine with it.
    WLS is not a quick fix. Although I have seen Gastric patients lose weight fast and not really change their eating habits other than portion. What ends up happening is down the road they get sick.. they are malnourished…..
    Sorry I had to miss this one!

Leave a Reply

