Had my yearly physical today

I have to say that I do truly love my PCP.  He has never made me feel bad about myself like some doctors have in the past.

He doesn’t expect his patients to be perfect.   He knows we are all human.

He is so thrilled with my weight loss and the steps that I am taking.   

Looking at my bloodwork though, there are some abnormalities.  My cholesterol did go up a bit again.  He said it could be carb loading (which I was certainly doing before the surgery at times) and it could also be genetics.

My white blood cell count has been a bit elevated and my sed rate is up.  It could be stress or healing from the surgery, but at the same time he is keeping an eye.

There is also some abnormalities with my red blood cells that he is treating by putting me on B12 and Folate for a while.

I find it a bit ironic that one of the reasons that I liked the lapband over the bypass is that I wouldn’t have to be on vitamin supplements for the rest of my life.

Because of my blood work though, I am actually on all of the supplements that I would have been taking because of the bypass, plus a few more.

Vitamins are good for me, right?

Due to the abnormalities in my blood, I have blood work and a follow up in 4 months.  Hopefully things will look better then.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Had my yearly physical today

  1. YES! Vitamins are good for you. Watch the Dr. Oz show. I love it! I record it every day.
    Critical Vitamins for Every Woman
    http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/critical-vitamins-every-woman
    I’m not sure how old you are but if you are 40+ here is another article.
    http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/critical-vitamins-every-woman

Leave a Reply

