Follow up with my surgeon today

I’m down 7lbs in 6 weeks according to his scale.  Dr. B is thrilled with my progress.

I didn’t want a fill and I’m happy with my progress, but I did admit that I still have a lot of fear.  I feel like I can eat too much and that the band doesn’t always stop me as much as I thought it would.  I do have issues though if I don’t chew

We did have a talk about how lapband patients never seem to be happy with their progress.  They want the benefits of the band with the weight loss of the bypass.  I can see where that is true.  Who wouldn’t want to lose faster?

I am sometimes envious of bypass patients weight loss, but then when they talk about their eating lifestyle, I am not jealous at all.  Eating with the band is hard enough.  I can’t even imagine trying to eat as a bypass patient.

We discussed how the band is doing everything it can now and now it’s time to work on my head issues.  That is definitely true.  I did remind him that I’m in therapy and will continue seeing my therapist once a week.

I admitted that I know I’m being a bit neurotic.  He did make me feel better by saying that I am being a little neurotic, but at least I’m aware of it and working on it.  A lot of patients are not.

I see him again in 8 weeks.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

