Why is it everytime I lose a signifigant amount of weight, my cholesterol goes up?

Ugh, I know that the majority of cholesterol is genetics, but it’s still so frustrating to see those numbers go up!

The last time I lost signifigant weight was the year I turned 30.  I had lost 40lbs that year and until that year my total cholesterol had always been around 150.  That year it went up to 262!

Every year since then, I have gained weight at my yearly physical and my cholesterol has gotten slightly better.

Last year, I weighed 313 at my physical and my cholesterol had been the best it had been in 5 years:

Total Cholesterol: 214 (normal range 0 – 200)
Tryglyceride: 233 (in normal range of 0 – 250)
HDL: 58 (in normal range of above 39)
Cholesterol/HDL: 3.7 (in normal range of less than 5)
LDL: 109 (in normal range of 40 – 130)

This year, I weigh 278 and my numbers all all high again except for my HDL:

Total Cholesterol: 248 (normal range 0 – 200)
Tryglyceride: 262 (normal range 0 – 250)
HDL: 42 (in normal range of above 39)
Cholesterol/HDL: 5.9 (normal range less than 5)
LDL: 154 (normal range 40 – 130)

It’s completely frustrating.  Why does this happen?  Why does it go down when I gain weight and go up when I lose weight?

I haven’t seen my PCP yet.  I have access to my electronic medical record so I was able to check the numbers on my own.

I think that I need to accept that this might be a genetic issue and not a weight issue.  Both of my parents have cholesterol of over 300 without medication and both are at healthy weights.

I’m not on meds yet, but every year I wonder if it will be the year that my PCP decides to put me on meds.

It will be interesting to see what he has to say about this.

All of my other numbers seem to look good except for my iron.  It’s still low, but it looks like it improved.  Shows me that I need to be better about taking my supplements.

Tomorrow I have an appointment with my surgeon for a follow up, so I might ask his opinion on this as well.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why is it everytime I lose a signifigant amount of weight, my cholesterol goes up?

  1. nwhiker says:

    Did you end up asking the surgeon?
    A woman at my WW meeting is diabetic and the more weight she loses, the worse her blood sugars get. She was a perfectly controlled diabetic until she lost 50lbs, and now she can’t seem to get a hold of her situation.
    As I lose weight, my knees started to hurt. I’d always exercised the same amount, so why, when I’d -at the time- lost about 40/50lbs did my knees start to give me trouble? The pain went away and hasn’t been back, but what the fish?
    And your cholesterol is better when you weigh more.
    I have no REAL ideas, and no training in biology -I’m a physics type- but I’m betting that at some point, they’ll tease out the relationships between fat/weight/weight loss/cholesterol/etc and inflammation a bit better, and we’ll start seeing a pattern. Or something.
    Anyhow, sorry about the cholesterol, it sucks because you’re doing so well on the weight loss, everything else should follow. Best of luck with your PCP and figuring this all out!

  2. Pingback: Blood test result victory | nancygettinghealthy

Leave a Reply

