Killing time until it’s time for them to take my blood

My yearly physical is next week so it’s time for me to do blood work.

I have to do 14 hours of fasting before the blood work so I can’t do it before 10:30 (late dinner last night).  At least I can drink water.

Of course I didn’t feel hungry at all until I started drinking water.  At least it will help me to be hydrated when they draw my blood.

I am actually excited about my physical this year.  It’s been so long since I have been able to go in there with a weight loss for the year.   It feels great not to have to dread that talk with my PCP.

I have a fantastic PCP.  He doesn’t yell at me.  He knows that I’m trying and appreciates that I have been going to therapy, exercising and not completely ignoring the issue.  He always talks about how he is "on my side".

I met with him before my surgery to get his opinion and saw him a couple of weeks ago for a sick visit and I know he is already thrilled with my loss so far.

It also got me thinking about how I need to start being good about all of my preventative care.  I go to my PCP yearly and I see my OBGYN yearly as well.

I can’t remember the last time I saw a dentist.  I know it was before I got pregnant (my son is 2 1/2).

I have an irrational fear of anything involving the drill.  I have no problem during xrays and teeth cleaning.

I did my research and found a place that offers sedation dentistry.  I figure that if any work needs to be done, if they can just put me out, that would be better than not going and not knowing.  I haven’t even had a cavity since I was 13 so I have no idea what my problem is.

Just thinking about the dentist makes me nauseous.

I made an appointment for a week from Friday though.  I want to be a good example for my son and go to ALL of my appointments that I should go to.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

