Monday Weigh In!

Finally made it to 40lbs lost and broke into a new decade!  Scale said 279.1 this morning!  I am 8.1lbs away from my next goal of losing 50lbs total!

I think it’s been about 5 years since I’ve seen the 270s and it feels so great to be there again.

It’s also hard to believe that February 1st was only my 3 month anniversary of my surgery!

Life after surgery has been very surreal for me.  I expected my life to be completely different and changed.  

Some days I don’t feel like I ever had surgery.  I still can’t wrap my brain around the fact that I did it and that there is a band inside my body wrapped around my stomach.

I can feel my port.  I can see my scars.  It still doesn’t seem real to me.

I think in some ways, that is a good thing.

Before I had the surgery, I used to think that my life would be "over" once I had the surgery.  That I wouldn’t be able to eat and have fun anymore.

It’s been a nice surprise that i’ve still been able to go out to eat and be social and still have the band and lose weight.

I also don’t feel deprived at all and know that I can have a small serving of something if I want it (and chew it well enough).

I’m still getting used to not eating while drinking and I do miss carbonation, but it’s definitely been worth it.

The only thing that I truly miss that I can’t wait to start drinking again is coffee.  I don’t ever want to go back to being a regular coffee drinker, but on those really bad mornings, when I’m just beyond exhausted, it would be nice to be able to have a cup.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Weigh In!

  1. lappymeal says:

    Yay! Congrats! 40 pounds is so awesome! You should be very, very proud!
    I miss carbonation too :/ Oh well.
    Why can’t you have coffee? I’ve been slurping it down since surgery. My doc never told me anything, I swear.

  2. nwhiker says:

    Yippee! 🙂
    That’s awesome, you’re doing incredibly well, and if you have to be sick, you deserve a little weight loss bonus at the end, damn it!
    No diet Coke? God. I don’t think I’d survive that. I think I bleed diet Coke.

  3. alicroc says:

    Congrats! I started my process in the 270s and I’m in the 220s now…so i can feel the comparison of 40lbs lost! It’s great isnt it! KEEP IT UP! When you get to the 220’s you WONT even believe the confidence you have.
    I spent most of my adult life between 220-228 before i had kids. So being back at 227…and feeling like “myself” again..is reward enough for dealing with the scars, the lack of certain things in my diet.
    PROUD OF YOU!

  4. daa_zle says:

    Congrats on the 40 pounds!!
    I know what you mean, I thought prior to surgery I could never eat certain things again, I have found out to this point I can eat everything I always did! at least the things I have tried! I still have not tried Chinese and hope to soon!
    I thought no more bread or pasta, and I have had no problems at all with either.
    For me the most important thing is I am finally losing weight. I always worked out, hard and never saw results, so I am so happy with that. I still have not felt “restricted ” yet

Leave a Reply

