The good/bad part about being sick/Superbowl Sunday

Well it finally happened.  After a week of my son being home and then my husband catching strep throat, I got sick.  All of a sudden, I was all stuffed up and had a 101.6 fever.

I don’t know if I was just that bloated or the decongestant did something, but the first night I was sick, I had to pee all night too.  I’m usually one of those lucky people who uses the bathroom before going to bed and then sleeps through the night.  Well Wednesday night I felt like I was up every hour or so and then in the morning when I weighed myself I was down about 5lbs!  Since then, even more. 

I only use the Monday number as the "official" number though, but unless I gain everything back overnight tonight, it looks like I’ll not only be able to claim my 40lbs gone finally, but a new decade as well.

Being sick has also helped get my eating under control a bit as I have not been that hungry and I’ve mostly been working on keeping hydrated.

The bad part about being sick is I have not being able to exercise, which is some of my favorite stress relief and gets me out of the house for some "me" time.  It’s still going to be at least a few more days before I’ll be able to even try cardio.

I’m feeling better today though and looking forward to going back to work.  I still have a bit of laryngitis from my sinus infection (it always happens), so I sound horrible even though I’m feeling fine.

Today is superbowl sunday and everything is about the food!  We are not going to any superbowl parties and I’m really happy about that.  Not only is the whole family recovering from being sick and taking care of each other, but none of us need all of that extra crap.  Truthfully, I doubt I’ll even watch the superbowl.  I really don’t care about it.   Most years I don’t watch it.  The only time I do is when the Patriots make it.

I did go out to lunch with my parents, my husband and my son before my parents took my son for a few hours so we could do some cleaning around the house.  I decided to try a half sandwich, which almost worked out perfectly expect for I didn’t watch my chewing and all of a sudden something was stuck.  I had to make a run for the bathroom and I threw up that last bite.

What am I learning is for me, it’s not what I’m eating, but how I’m eating it.  I really need to make sure that I take small bites and chew really well.  Every time I don’t, I end up throwing up a bite of food.  It’s nice that it’s only one bite and then about 5 minutes later I’m back to normal, but it’s still throwing up and it’s still uncomfortable.  This was the first time it happened in a public place and I’m just happy I was able to make it to the bathroom in time.

The theme of the next week for me is working on getting back to "normal". 

Being sick with a sinus infection has given me a great excuse not to wear my CPAP.  I just couldn’t breathe with it on and my face was so sensitive the mask bothered me.   Now that my sinuses are no longer hurting, I’m going to try giving the mask another shot.  It may be a few more days before I can handle it, but I need to start trying it again every night.

I also became bad about my vitamins and haven’t taken them in days.  I need to make sure that I get back in the habit.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The good/bad part about being sick/Superbowl Sunday

  1. lappymeal says:

    Do you have the gummy vitamins? I do, and they are tasty, so I end up eating them more often. Yum. I keep them by the computer so if I happen to be sitting there I can just pop them.

    • nancykerins says:

      All of my vitamins are chewables. I think part of the problem is with the sickness, I’ve been out of routine in general. I keep them on my desk at work and take them when I eat my breakfast there.
      Thanks for the tip though.

Leave a Reply

