So glad I went to the monthly support group tonight

I’m back to being super tired and almost didn’t write about this tonight because I just want to sleep, but then I changed my mind because I wanted it to be fresh in my mind.

I’m really glad that I went to the support group tonight.

I really wish more post-op people went and spoke up.

The support group is really more for the pre-surgery patients there.  I could have asked a question, but there are so many people there who want to know what life is like after surgery.

I saw up front with some of the other post-op people.  I am still a newbie in their eyes, but I was the lapband person who was there to speak up.

That is what is hard about having one support group for multiple surgeries.  Some of the issues are so similar, but other issues are like night and day.

It felt really good to answer those questions for people and remind myself of what it was like before the band when I was one of those people just wanting to know what it’s like.  I had someone come up to me after and ask me about fills and if they hurt and I remember that being a huge concern to me.

It was a really good group tonight with really great questions and concerns. 

I came home in a really good mood and feeling really good about things and that is what I needed.

I am looking forward to being able to attend the 6 PM group as well once my post-op class is done.  That is a smaller group and I think will be more beneficial to the questions that I personally have now and the things that I need to talk about.

For now I have my weekly post-op class for that and I’m looking forward to going tomorrow.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So glad I went to the monthly support group tonight

  1. lappymeal says:

    That’s cool you went. I know there are support groups in my town, but I’ve never really considered going to them. Maybe they would be helpful…

    • nancykerins says:

      Just like it’s helpful to read other people’s journals, I think sometimes it’s helpful to get the support in person as well. You have to find what works for you.

  2. daa_zle says:

    You were very through in your answers. I saw a lot of people nodding their heads because they understood!! You did great!

Leave a Reply

