Yet another awesome crockpot meal…

Yesterday, I made pesto lasagna with spinach and mushrooms in the crockpot.

It was AMAZING!  Plus, I think the serving sizes were going to be really small and I would have to have a salad or a side with it, but the serving size was a nice, big piece.  I could barely finish it.

You can find the recipe here

I’m still have yet to have any chicken, beef, pork since last Sunday and I’m feeling good.  I’m almost at the point where it’s just interesting to see how long I can go without it now.

Looking forward to having leftovers for lunch.

I’m also amazed at the fact that pasta didn’t bother me at all.  I’ve heard so many horror stories of things getting stuck and people not being able to eat pasta, rice, bread, etc. and I have yet to experience that.

Going into this, I was ready to accept that I would never be able to eat certain things again and that has not happened to me yet.

The only thing that I have not tried yet is steak and that I only eat once in a while anyway.  I’ll have to try it though at home just to be sure I would be ok.  I don’t think a restaurant would be the time to get experimental.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yet another awesome crockpot meal…

  1. landorki says:

    wow! that looks amazing… too many carbs for me though. I try to stay under 20g of carbs in a 2 hour window, although up to 30 is ok everyone once in a while… I am going to see if I can mess with it using a low carb pasta! Thanks for the find!

  2. lappymeal says:

    That looks very tasty! I do wish that I didn’t hate cooking so much…I like home-cooked meals, especially crock pot ones. My mother used it often when I was a child.
    I have no trouble with steak as long as I chew it a lot. It doesn’t matter how soft and wonderful the steak is if you don’t chew it a lot. I ordered a $40 filet mignon, rare, and thought I would have no trouble with it. So I didn’t chew as well as I should have. It was the most pain I’ve had with the lapband till it passed.

    • nancykerins says:

      I’m pretty new to the crockpot, but it’s been really handy with my busy lifestyle. It’s so nice to prep it in the morning and come home to a hot meal. Plus it’s so EASY!

Leave a Reply

