I hate, hate, hate, hate, hate, HATE shoveling

Have I mentioned yet that I hate shoveling?

My husband is away and I’m trying to work from home with a toddler during a blizzard. 

So far my toddler has been happy with DVD after DVD which has been a blessing.  It would actually be a fun day if it was just working from home and entertaining my toddler.

I also have to do all of the shoveling by myself.

Everyone thinks that living in a condo means you don’t have to shovel.  Well not my complex.  We are all townhouses and it’s a huge complex.  We pay a company to plow our private roads and dip out the driveways at the end of the storm, but there is no way we could afford to pay for people to shovel out each townhouse.  Our condo fees would be astronomical!

I don’t have a garage, so I don’t own a snowblower.  Most of the year I love having the 6th room that my end unit came with instead of a garage.  This is the only time I hate it.

If I had a garage, I could own a snowblower.  If I had a garage, I could put my car in there and then pay someone to plow me out.

Shoulda, coulda, woulda is not going to change the present though.

So I put my son on my bed, gated him in the area and went out for my first pass.  I stayed out for 45 minutes and would estimate that we have about a foot and a half of snow right now.

It’s wet snow, which is the worst to shovel, but at least it doesn’t blow around.

It took about three tries with the shovel to get down to the bottom layer.

I made it almost out to the street.

Part of the problem is it’s still snowing out, so the stuff that I just shoveled has a nice little dusting.

Ok, enough bitching and time for the good part of all this is shoveling has become easier for me to do.

Not only do I exercise a lot, but I have also lost 37lbs.  It’s amazing what a difference that could make.  I stayed out a lot longer than I could have in the past.  

Plus the reason that I came in had nothing to do with being tired and more to do with being soaking wet and cold.  Maybe next year, I’ll actually invest in snow pants.

I need to take this one as a victory.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

