Therapy, talking about stress and good food day

I had a really good day yesterday.

I had an appointment with my therapist at lunchtime and really got some stuff out that had been bothering me since the holidays and talked about how I ate my feelings a bit.

Then I also had my post op class in the afternoon and the topic of the class this week was dealing with stress and recognizing our reactions to stress whether it be physical or behavioral.

One of the major things that I do is called circular thinking.  Where you basically obsess about a certain situation in your head and can’t get it out of your mind.  You keep thinking over and over again what you could have done differently.  This is a major problem for me and I even get thinking about stuff from years ago sometime.  It’s so hard for me to let go.

For a while now I’ve tried to have the mantra of "it is what it is" and to accept the things that I cannot control.  Some things I can be so calm about, but other things send me off into a major tizzy.

Why can’t I just let some things go?  What can’t I accept what is in the past is in the past and there is nothing that I can do to change it?

I’m going to try to work on letting more things go.  Especially things that I cannot control.  The instructor was right.  Why cause my body stress and my heart rate and blood pressure to go up over things that are out of my control?  And even the things that are in my control, by the time they have caused me stress, there is not much I can do to change it anyway.

I set a goal to get at least 25g of fiber and eat no more than 1500 calories a day this week.  Yesterday I came in at 1495 so day 1 was a success!

Tomorrow I see the surgeon and will hopefully get a fill so the calorie count should be easier when I’m on liquids.  I probably won’t be able to make the fiber goal though on my liquid days, but I’m not going to stress about that.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Therapy, talking about stress and good food day

  1. missjewell says:

    Ok I need to chant that mantra A LOT! I didn’t know it was called circular thinking, I do that so much.
    I am going for a fill tomorrow and I need one bad cause I am a bottom less pit and I don’t like that feeling.

  2. Benefiber mixes into liquids really well. I don’t notice it. With Metamucil, I can tell it’s in there.
    If you really want to go gung-ho on fiber…
    You can puree any chunky soup so you can get fiber from vegies. You can also steam some and add more vegies to puree.

Leave a Reply

