The good and the bad of the holidays, take 1

 On Wednesday night, we drove down to my inlaws.

This is not the first weekend that I’ve been away at the inlaws since I had surgery, but it is the longest (here Wednesday night until Monday afternoon) and the first time I’m fully on solids.

Yesterday, my mother in law offered to make breakfast for us.  She was making scrambled eggs and hashbrowns.  I decide to have a small amount and it was delicious.  The eggs have sauteed mushrooms and the hashbrowns were from scratch.  It still ended up being a 500 calorie breakfast though.  WAY high for me.

I ate my leftovers from the restaurant the night before for lunch so that wasn’t so bad.  

After lunch, we took my son to a bouncy hut place.  My 2 1/2 year old loves the "bouncies".  I have always been afraid to go on them with him.  What if I pop them?  I’m too heavy to go on something like that right?

Well, even though I’ve only lost 35lbs so far, something gave me the confidence to take off my shoes and go for it.  It was a little scary at first and I didn’t quite do the jumping that others do, but guess what?  It didn’t pop or deflate and I was able to have a fantastic time with my son!  I think it helped that it wasn’t crowded as well, but it felt great to participate instead of just sitting on the sidelines.

When we got back, I got the MAJOR munchies.  I think I might be PMS’ing.  I had some of my son’s cheddar snack mix (annie’s bunnies and pretzels) and some pistachios.  I was bummed that I did not feel full from them to stop me from eating.

Then we went out for dinner.  I decided to get the tuna wontons and the salad bar.  At least I finally felt full after eating a side salad and an appetizer sized meal.

After dinner, we stopped at Newport Creamery.  My husband wanted an Awful Awful (type of milkshake) and I decided to get a hot chocolate since I was cold.  Totally burned my mouth on the hot chocolate.  Then we listened to holiday music, my son demanding different music the whole time and drove around looking at lights.

After the munchies, dinner, hot chocolate, etc. I thought to myself that I just wouldn’t journal.  Then when I handed in my journal next week at the post op class, I could just say that I didn’t do it and they would never know right?  It would be my little secret!

This morning I came to my senses and journaled all 2922 calories of it.  Holy @$@$#@$! 2922 calories!  How did I manage that one?

I’m determined for today to be a better day.  My mother in law’s Christmas Eve tradition is boiled lobster.  I’m roasting asparagus and brussel sprouts for the dinner.  I’m going to have a fage yogurt for breakfast and that is it.  Back to my "normal" breakfast.  I’m here until Monday and I’m not going to let one day derail me.

I need to focus more on the family aspect and less on the food.  Today we are seeing my father in law and trimming the tree.  I’m looking forward to both activities and getting out of the house a bit.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The good and the bad of the holidays, take 1

  1. landorki says:

    You amaze me with these calorie totals… I have no idea how you do that! Maybe it is the choices and not necessarily the amounts of food? It doesn’t sound like you had much food at all!

Leave a Reply

