Went to the Pulmonologist today

I try really hard to be compliant with things that doctors tell me to do.

Right now though, I have so many things that I need to be compliant on, that sometimes I just don’t feel like it.

The CPAP machines is one of things that I have the most trouble with.  I don’t feel like I get a good nights sleep when I wear it.  I haven’t even tried to wear it since last Monday.

I saw the NP at the pulmonologist again and she went over my results with me.  Since the last time I saw her, I wore my CPAP 75% of the time for an average of 4 hours.  That is an improvement from the average of 2 hours and 51 minutes, but it’s not good enough.  Especially since I am not wearing the CPAP every night.  I might keep it on on average for longer, but I’m wearing it less often.

We discussed the different options and I did explain to her that I have tried all of the available masks.  I’m quite limited mask wise since I need something that covers both my mouth and my nose.  I have tried all of the masks that the respiratory company offers and I am using the one that works the best for me. 

We did talk about getting a dental guard instead of the CPAP, but I don’t think that would work better for me than the CPAP.  I have used a mouth guard before to avoid teeth clenching during times of stress and I always find it somewhere in my bed by morning.  At least with the CPAP, I have to conciously take it off.  I would never be able to tell how long the mouth guard stays in.

The machine wakes me up a lot of nights because the mask starts to leak.  I usually end up waking up, fixing the mask and going back to sleep a couple of times until I eventually get frustrated and take it off sometime in the middle of the night.

What is comes down to though, is even if I rip it off in the middle of the night, I need to try wearing it each and every night.  The NP was quite stern about that.

She reminded me that even though my sleep apnea is considered mild, I do still have it.  Also, even though it’s mild does not mean that it will go away with weight loss.  This could be something that I am dealing with for life.

She was at least very understanding about what I was saying and I got the feeling that she was glad that I was being honest about it.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Went to the Pulmonologist today

  1. landorki says:

    i had to google pulmonologist… that sounds scary. I hope it all works out!

Leave a Reply

