“Survived” two nights in a row of take out

Even though my family is a family of very thin/healthy people, we have always been a take out family.

My parents are creatures of habit.  They eat the same things at the same places all of the time.

If you go into Panera at lunch time on  a weekend, they are most likely there and if they are not, one of them is probably sick.

They eat at or get take out from Fantasy Island at least once a week.  When they walk in, all of the staff know them, where they like to sit and what they are going to order.

My mother generally does cook during the week, but not on the weekends.

"Take out" is generally one of three things to my parents:  chinese, subs or pizza.

Last night, my parents picked up my son from daycare and then I met them over their house for dinner.   They wanted to do takeout as everyone was too tired to cook.  They decided on pizza so I did get a greek salad with tuna on top.  I could have tried the pizza, but I actually didn’t want to.  Especially knowing that we were getting together as a family to celebrate Chanukah and the plan was to order chinese take out.

Today, I really planned on getting up early and putting my son in babysitting at the gym so I could do the elliptical before his swim class at nine.  That did NOT happen.  I was just exhausted and couldn’t get myself out of bed in time.  I barely got to the swim class in time.

I ate light today though knowing that I was going to have chinese food takeout tonight.  Chinese food is one of those classic foods that I tend to overeat and probably responsible for at least 75% of my weight gain.  It was my go to binge food when my husband was away and nobody would be around to see how much I would order.

We ordered the normal stuff for our takeout tonight:  boneless spare ribs, fried shrimp, peking ravioli (at least i asked for steamed), scallion pancake, fried rice, general gau’s chicken, shrimp with lobster sauce and sesame beef.  I could have easily added something healthier to the order.  My parents are very open to me ordering whatever I want.  I decided that I wanted to see if I could eat along with the family and the things that I truly enjoyed, but in smaller amounts, instead of eating some steamed diet dish while watching them eat.

I ate a little bit of everything and ate it in small pieces and slowly.  It all went down just fine.  I figured since I was hosting Chanukah and it was my immediate family that this was the time to try something like this, so if I threw up or if something got stuck, I wouldn’t be alone, but I wasn’t with a crowd of people.

I probably ate a little too much, but definitely not even CLOSE to the amount I used to eat.  It tasted wonderful and I was glad to have the treat.  I do have to say though, it’s been 2 1/2 hours and I still feel full.

Out of 1967 calories eaten today, 1217 of them were that dinner.  I probably overestimated what I ate, but I figure it’s better to overestimate than under.  It’s amazing how quickly chinese food adds up.

I seem to have twisted my ankle earlier today and it’s still hurting, but I’m hoping that it feels better in the morning so I can go to my Zumba class.  

I have the extended family Chanukah party tomorrow and it will be nice to get in a little exercise before going as who knows what they will be serving there.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Survived” two nights in a row of take out

  1. daa_zle says:

    I have been too afraid to try just about everything. Thank you for posting what you ate, it might give me the courage to try something more solid.
    I have been existing on soups, squash,and overcooked veggies for the most part. I did have fish one night and that was good. I still haven’t had bread yet.
    Thanks again!
    Maybe Monday, when I can eat again after my fill Friday, I’ll try something more solid.

  2. As you get more fills in your band, you will need to take your own back up food. Just have can of soup or something in the car, just in case.
    I went to a party a week ago and I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat there. I ate dinner before I went. When I was there, I took a few nibbles on these tiny quiche hordevours but I knew I couldn’t really eat them.
    Read thru the history of the WLS group. Everyone seems to struggle with family food. It’s just easier to do your own thing. If you had a food allergy you would have to take your own food.
    You don’t really know this about me but I am living/struggling with a lapband slip 2 years post surgery. I think it was from eating too much regular food. I don’t have the insurance or the $$ to get it fixed right now. So, I’m stuck! I always have to think ahead before eating with others and I almost always have back up food.

Leave a Reply

