Finally found a good chewable multivitamin for adults

Having a band, I’m so afraid to take the big pills that vitamins usually come in so I have gotten used to most of my vitamins and supplements being chewable.

I was taking the whole foods children’s chewable vitamins and taking double the amount, but I wanted to see if I could find something better so I asked the wls community what they take for vitamins.

I got a variety of responses and decided to try to find Centrum Chewables.  I had no idea Centrum even had adult chewables.  When I originally looked at CVS, I only found kids chewables so they must not have had them in stock there.

I went to Target last night and found them there.

Now I’ll only have to take my multivitamin once a day, which will be nice.  I bought two bottles, one to keep at my desk at work and the other at home.

I do much better with morning vitamins if I keep them at work as I rarely eat before I leave the house.

Centrum Chewables has:
5 calories
1g carbohydrates

3500 IU Vitamin A 70%
60mg Vitamin C 100%
400 IU Vitamin D 100%
30 IU Vitamin E 100%
10 mcg Vitamin K 13%
1.5 mg Thiamin 100%
1.7mg Riboflavin 100%
20mg Niacin 100%
2mg Vitamin B6 100%
400mcg Folic Acid 100%
6mcg Vitamin B12 100%
45mg Biotin 15%
10mg Pantothenic Acid 100%
108mg Calcium 11%
18mg Iron 100%
50mg Phosphorus 5%
150mcg Iodine 100%
40mg Magnesium 10%
15mg Zinc 100%
2mg Copper 100%
1mg Maganese 100%
20mcg Chromium 17%
20mcg Molybdenum 275

 

I’m trying to be really good about my vitamins and my supplements as it’s one of the biggest things that WLS patients are not compliant on.

I have to admit that I have been feeling great as well.  I have no idea if it’s the vitamins, the weight loss, the healthy eating or all of the above, but normally by now I have had at least one sinus infection (especially since having a child in daycare) and I have felt extremely healthy.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finally found a good chewable multivitamin for adults

  1. landorki says:

    I would love to take a multi only once a day! I think I am going to look into that! Do you take a calcium supplement too? I have to take a multi in the am, a calcium at lunch, a multi in the pm and a calcium at bed… My Dr. told me it is “always good for women to have enough calcium” lol… So I take it! After logging all my food yesterday, I only had 19% of my calcium for the day… So I really need the calcium supplement.

    • nancykerins says:

      My supplement schedule is:
      Morning:
      Multivitamin
      Vitamin C 500mg
      Iron
      Lunch:
      Calcium +D
      Vitamin D3 1000 ICU
      Evening/Before Bed:
      Vitamin C500mg
      Iron
      Everything except for the multivitamin I’m on because I was deficient in my blood work. I was taking the multivitamin twice a day when I was taking children’s, but now that I found an adult I can take it once a day.

  2. I did the whole hop around the chewable vitamins. I had my list & schedule just like you.
    You may want to try liquid sometime. Centrum has a liquid. I use Country Life’s which is sold at Whole Foods where I discovered it. You can get it SO MUCH cheaper at LuckyVitamin.com along with other supplements. I love it! I mix my daily dose into orange juice though. The bottle lasts for a month.
    Info on the Liquid Multi:
    http://www.country-life.com/moreinfo.cfm?Category=25&Product_ID=392
    It’s $12 cheaper on LuckyVitamin.com
    http://www.luckyvitamin.com/p-8885-country-life-liquid-multi-vitamin-mineral-complex-32-oz?itemKey=58021&gclid=CPeD7Yud3qUCFcXD7QodQio2zQ&
    Get a pill cutter for other things. I cut all of my allergy pills and other things and take them with me for the day.

Leave a Reply

