2 week of the Post Op Class

 Today was my 2nd week in the post op class.

There were a lot more people in there tonight, almost double the number from last week.

I handed in my food journal and I am looking forward to see if I get any feedback on it next week.  My blood pressure is still good as well.

I set my goals for next week to be more fiber, less fat and exercise at least 4 times.  I would have met my goal of exercising 5 times for this week if it wasn’t for the Joint Commission coming to examine the hospital this week and keeping me at work last night until 8 PM.

At least I got in 1/2 hour on the elliptical today as part of the program.  My husband goes away tomorrow, so my parents are babysitting tomorrow night so I can make it to Aqua Zumba and then I’m having a babysitter come on Thursday night so I can go to Zumba.  

The topic tonight was on exercising and that is something I feel as though I have down already.  I realized while she was talking, that I have been exercising regularly for nearly 8 years now.  I was amazed that it had been that long.

The instructor talked about all of the normal stuff: find something you enjoy, use the buddy system to help get it in, make sure you do both cardio and strength training, etc.

At the end when she asked for questions, I did want to comment on how people often don’t think that they can do some forms of exercise because of their size.  I am proof that is not true.  I talked about how even when I was 6 months pregnant and 326lbs, I was still able to do my spinning class.

Sure it took a while to build up to spinning, but what I have realized over these years is that everyone, no matter what their size, has to build up cardio endurance.  I started out with Walk Away the Pounds 1 mile and now I feel like I can try almost any class at the gym.  Some classes I still need to modify and do the low impact version of the exercising, but I’m ok with that.  I’ll be able to do the high impact parts someday!

I’m just glad that I had a good personal trainer who encouraged me to try different things, because that is the way I found the things that I enjoy.

A couple of the girls asked if I had facebook and I gave them my info so they could friend me.  I’m looking forward to talking more with the others in my group and keeping in touch with them after "graduation".

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2 week of the Post Op Class

  1. nwhiker says:

    but what I have realized over these years is that everyone, no matter what their size, has to build up cardio endurance. I started out with Walk Away the Pounds 1 mile and now I feel like I can try almost any class at the gym. Some classes I still need to modify and do the low impact version of the exercising, but I’m ok with that. I’ll be able to do the high impact parts someday!
    This is SO true, I’m also a exercise-while-big kinda gal. If more people realised this, they would be many more fit and fat people, and much healthier fat people too. But the issues of being mocked and finding clothing make it very difficult, I think.
    That said, your progress is amazing. Congratulations! 🙂

    • nancykerins says:

      Thank you so much!
      I just like to encourage other people because I was one of those people who thought I couldn’t do it until I lost some weight. It is hard to find good gym clothes, but I find good stuff at landsend and old navy online.

  2. daa_zle says:

    Class
    I was there too! My first class. We didn’t net get to meet but I remember you saying don’t let your weight stop you from exercising.
    I also had Dr. B, and my band was done 11/8, I had my first fill this past Friday.
    We’ll have to chat next time!

    • nancykerins says:

      Re: Class
      Definitely say hi next time! I should be there on Tuesday afternoon. I was so tired that I didn’t get to come across the way I wanted to, but I think people got what I was trying to say.

Leave a Reply

