Made it to 30lbs down!

This morning I stepped on the scale and it said 291.

I’m VERY excited about making it to 30lbs down already.

I am eating MUCH healthier overall.

My clothes are fitting me well.

I feel less tired all of the time.

My surgeon reminded me that the average weight loss for lap band patients is .5 to 1lb a week.  Right now my average is 4.3 a week, but keep in mind that also includes the presurgery liquid diet which drops a lot of weight since it’s so restrictive.

I’m feeling more confident now that I have a fill in me.  Last night I was only able to eat 4 1/2 oz of salmon instead of 6 oz.

I’m almost to my next goal of 288.9, which is 10% of my original weight.

This week I’m focusing on getting more fiber in.  I have the protein down.  Often instead of 60 or 70 grams of protein, I’m getting 100+ grams in.

Fiber is important as well though and now that I can start trying more solids, I’m going to slowly add more high fiber things in.  Today, I’m trying Fiber One Caramel Delight cereal which has 9g of fiber per cup of cereal.   This is a cereal I already knew that i liked.  I ate it quite a bit before as well as the regular Fiber One cereal.  I had diverticulitis a while back and I more learned it was because I wasn’t getting in enough fiber.  It’s one of the many reasons that fiber is important.  Also, if you have started to have some issues because of those iron supplements, try getting in more fiber as well.

I’m also trying Joseph’s Flax, Oat Bran and Whole Wheat Flour pita today.  This was recommended in my class last week.   I got the small pitas to start.  1 small pita has 45 calories, 1g of fat (no saturated or trans fats), 8g carbs, 4g dietary fiber, 1g sugar and 5g protein.  Good way to get some fiber and protein in.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Made it to 30lbs down!

  1. landorki says:

    you are doing amazing!!! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

