Just because it’s salad….

Just because it’s salad doesn’t make it low fat/low cal.

I know this and I still ate too much.

Well at least what I perceive to be too much.   I didn’t throw up or get nauseas, I just felt FULL.

Yesterday my husband, son and I went to Unos for lunch.  I looked at their NI before I went and decided on a soup and a salad to order.  I was going to ordrer the Broccoli Cheese soup and then eat about 1/2 of the Chopped Honey Citrus Salad.  That would have given me about a 550 calorie lunch.

I ended up ordering the French Onion soup last minute and then eating the croutons in it all the while freaking out that they were going to get stuck, but eating them anyway.  I guess I was in an experimental mood.  I did take them in small pieces and chewed well and everything was fine.

Then the salad came.  OMG was that a REALLY good salad.  The dressing was amazing, but not overpowering and it has the right mixture of crunch and softness.  I ended up eating the whole 570 calorie salad except for a few bites.  I could have easily stopped halfway and been satisfied, but I kept going.  Next time I’m either going to order just the salad or ask them to box up half before it even gets to the table.  It was so good, I couldn’t stop eating. 

At least I was so full that I didn’t need to have anything else to eat until dinner.

My mother in law came up to babysit so we could see the Harry Potter movie at the Jordan’s Imax.  There is a Fuddruckers there and my husband LOVES Fuddruckers.  He is so supportive though and doesn’t push or expect to eat there.  I decided that I could handle it and told him that I planned out my night and was able to go.  I think I chose smart.  I got a veggie burger with no bun, cheddar cheese, grilled mushrooms and grilled onions with a side garden salad.  I took out all of the croutons out of the garden salad and had Sesame Vinagrette dressing on the side (which is an AWESOME dressing if you are ever eating there).  I only used about half of the dressing and had a really great meal.  Again, I was full, but not as full as I was at lunch.

At the movie, my husband and I shared a large lemonade.  I just was not in the mood for water for some reason.

Harry Potter 7, Part 1 was great.  I thought they did an excellent job.  I reread the book recently and I think they caught all of the important information.  I can’t wait until Part 2 comes out.

After the movie, I came home and finished tracking.

My day was 2190 calories, 103g fat, 229g carbs, 17.6g fiber  and 108g protein!

I couldn’t believe I was able to eat so much still and according to the scale, I’m about a pound down from last week!  How is that possible?

I know the nutrtionist told me to trust my band and not worry about the calories taken in as much.  I’m still trying to keep it around 1500 calories per day average though so I gotta plan a little better in general.  I don’t think days like this will hurt me once in a while, but I don’t want them to become regular.

I did make it to my Sunday morning Zumba class though and got in a good sweat so I feel a little better. 

I think I’m going to make Sunday a strength training day from now on and do some muscle work after Zumba.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just because it’s salad….

  1. lappymeal says:

    Well, salad always goes down really easy for me, and on top of that you had the soup to start with, which will ALWAYS allow yout to eat more. Liquids while eating is a very bad thing with the band.
    Of course, I don’t think you need to be worried. Awareness is half the battle with the band, I think. And look at it this way – whatever you DID eat was probably way less than what you would have had before.

  2. landorki says:

    wow… that is alot of calories… I am 5’9 and my nutritionist told me to average around 1000 a day! And this is only because I am tall. Most lap band patients are 600-800 calories a day! It amazes me how different everyone treatment is… I lose on average 3 pounds a week.

    • nancykerins says:

      That is the funny thing about the # of calories thing. My program told me not to worry about my calories. It’s kind of freaking me out.
      I still lost weight though so I’m not going to worry about one high day.

      • landorki says:

        they told you not to worry about calories? The whole thing with weight loss is that you have to burn more then you take in… but if you aren’t worrying about calories, then what do you measure? I am sure you will lose weight around 1500 calories, but given the amount we should be eating in volume size… I can see how that is even possible if we are eating “healthy”. Maybe I will get the hang of this soon… They told me to focus on water, protein, and vitamins while having a low fat diet and stay around 800-1000 calories a day. I stick to that and I am losing good… Maybe everyone body is different!

      • nancykerins says:

        Well they don’t want me eating obnoxious amounts of food either. 😉
        When I asked the nutritionist how many calories I should eat, she said that it was individual and that I should listen to the band and just focus on eating healthy food. The 1500/day is what I’m aiming for.
        I did turn in my food journal from last week to my 12 week post op class so it will be interesting to see what comments they have.
        I’ve been losing steady so unless I stop losing, I’m not going to freak out about it.

      • landorki says:

        you are doing a great job! I just can’t get over how different everyone’s treatment is! AND we are all doing so well!!

Leave a Reply

