I have a new favorite Zumba class

Tonight, I was finally able to make it to the 7:30 PM Zumba class at the Marblehead Y.

It was so much fun that time went by really quickly.  It’s a 45 minute class and when she said it was time to start cooling down, I thought only 10 minutes had gone by.  I didn’t want the class to stop!

It was a "real" Zumba class, where it was based on latin dancing and you are just dancing the whole time.  She doesn’t do breaks between songs, but encourages you to drink water and take breaks when you need to.  I did drink a little water, but I never really felt the need to take much of a break.

It’s not that I don’t like the other Zumba classes that I’ve tried at the Y, but some of them are more like aerobics to me and not what I think of Zumba.

The moves weren’t crazy or beyond fast.  It was the pace I would expect at a Zumba class.  I definitely worked up a sweat, but I didn’t feel like I was dying either.  She does several levels of a move and shows you how to do low impact vs. high impact so you can adjust to your own level.

You could tell the instructor was having a lot of fun, which made it more fun as well.  The atmosphere was very relaxed.

Thursday nights at 7:30 PM is definitely going to become a regular for me.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

