Got my first fill overwith

I am so happy and relieved that my first fill is done and overwith.

First, because I freak out when it comes to needles, especially the first time I’m having something done.  It’s totally the fear of the unknown.  I’m a lot calmer than I used to be when I was a child.  As a child, I was that kid screaming and crying before the doctor even touched me, trying to escape the room and being dragged back in by the nurses.  You know that kid that ends up freaking out all of the other kids in the waiting room.

Dr. B had to laugh a little because he has the same 1 month post op appointments with the majority of lapband patients.  Patient freaking out because they aren’t losing fast enough, they aren’t feeling restricted, etc.  I said all of the same things and he just smiled and giggled and just went over the fact again that there was nothing in the band to restrict and the aim is to get to .5 to 1 lbs on average a week.  He reminded me that I am doing wonderful and that I’ve already lost 28lbs.  He also reminded me that it can take 3 – 6 months to get that "sweet spot" of perfect restriction and that band people have to be patient.

So then he had me lie down and he decided to put 2ccs into my 10cc band.  Sounds like a good start to me.  I had no idea what he would put in there.

He did give me novocaine, which made things a lot easier.  With novocaine you do get that pinch and burn for a second, but then it’s all nice and numb.  I did feel a little nausea, but that could have even been the novocaine since I had not had anything to eat yet and I often get nausea from medications when I have an empty stomach.

It took him a few minutes to find the center of the port and then it was over in seconds.  I didn’t feel a thing thanks to that wonderful novocaine.

Now, unless there is a problem with me keeping food down, I don’t seem him again for another month.

So now I’m on liquids for 2 days, then I can go back to soft solids and then back to trying solids again.

I did liquids for over 3 weeks before, so 2 days should hopefully be nothing.  I do want to go to Zumba class tonight though so I hope that I will feel ok going after only having liquids today.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

