1st class with the 12 week post op cardiovascular risk reduction program

Today, I finally made it to the class I’ve been waiting for, the 12 week post op cardiovascular risk reduction class.  This is where I was hoping to start to meet people that I indentif  with and getting some support now that I have had this surgery.

I got there about 2:50 and went into one of the bathrooms to change into my workout clothes.  I was the first one in the waiting room.  I’m always so afraid of being late, that I’m usually the first one to arrive at a lot of things.

I started to get nervous.  Was I going to be the ONLY one there?  Silly anxiety, of course I’m not the only one in the afternoon program!

A few other people started to show up and around 3:15 they brought us to the conference room to start our paperwork for the week.

They gave me this packet to start out with.  It’s 12 of the same sheets all stapled together that I fill out each week.

Things like my resting heart rate, did I do any blood work, did I have any doctors appointments, how was my exercise, how was my eating, what are my goals for the next week, etc.

They also gave me a paper journal to hand in.  I totally suck at paper journaling, but at least I can still journal online and then fill it in before class.

I weighed myself and recorded that number.  Their scale weighed me about 4lbs heavier than my home scale.  They take my blood pressure, which is still excellent.

Once all of that is done, you can go ahead and hop on a cardio machine.  I was psyched that the elliptical was not taken because I hate treadmills with a passion.  I always feel like I’m going to fall of, I get major shin splints and I definitely do not work out as hard as I do on an elliptical.

While we are all exercise, they continue to take our heart rate, pulse/oxygen and blood pressure.  I was also wearing my heart rate monitor because I’m a total geek and I like to see where my heart rate is and how many calories I burn.

After about 45 minutes of cardio, we got out into the hall and one of the instructors shows us how to stretch.  I have to admit that I worked out pretty hard and didn’t do a full cool down and felt the teeniest bit dizzy.  It also could have been because I didn’t eat anything after lunch and before my workout.  I had a planned snack for about a hour before the class and I forgot it when I left my desk at Salem and went over to the Union campus.

We were also taught how to properly do squats (something that is very important to protect your knees) and how to do a back exercise with hand weights.  When she told us to get heavy weights, I took 10’s.  She questioned me on it because it was my first week and I told her that I had been strength training for a long time and 10’s were actually light for me.

Once the exercise was all done, we went back into the conference room and did a little bit of meditation.  I was able to keep my mind on meditating (which is often hard for me).  One of the points of the meditation is to relax, but also to bring your heart rate and blood pressure down.  I did not succeed at that.  My resting heart rate was actually higher after medication.  I have to wonder if it was because of the exercise and I truly had not finished cooling down.

After meditation, we had "class" and talked about protein and food sources of protein.  We got to sample a few protein bars and I liked a couple of them (Luna Lemon Zest and Zone Caramel Crunch).  We talked a lot about different food protein sources and how to get in all of our protein.  Talked a lot about tofu, beans, fish and even some wraps that are high in protein.  I’m lucky that I have not had an issue getting in my protein.  It’s fruits and veggies I need to start adding back in.

I was happy to hear there were two other lapband people there.  Most of the others in the class were bypass.  Even though we have class together, the surgeries are so different.  What you can eat and what bothers you is different and even when stuff bothers you, what happens to your body is different.  

I though it was a great class and I’m glad I have the first one done so the curiosity factor is over with.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

