Thanksgiving, Weekend Away and Monday WI

Thanksgiving was great!

I had already planned a bunch of sides that were "soft solids" that I knew that I could eat, but it was so nice to get the ok on Wednesday that I could try turkey.

I have hosted Thanksgiving a few times so it was very easy for me.  Years ago I had a taken a class at the Boston Center for Adult Education on preparing a Thanksgiving meal.  They taught how to make a turkey, sides, etc.  They also taught time management on Thanksgiving and things that you could make up to two weeks early.

So I had the whole meal already planned on what I was going to prep while other things were cooking and it worked out beautifully.  The only thing was I slept a little late so my turkey didn’t get in until around 9, which meant we didn’t eat until close to 3:30 (my family is used to eating around 2).  Next year I’ll try to get it in by 7:30/8.

I made a cheddar/beer fondue and my mother made an artichoke dip for appetizers.  I had a small taste of each.

I did take one bite of the stuffing when it came out to taste test it, but I didn’t want to press my luck so that is all I had.

At dinner I ate some corn souffle, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole and dark meat turkey with gravy.  It was SO GOOD!  Small portions of each, but it was nice to have "real" food.

For desert I had about a 1/4 piece of my mom’s cheesecake (which is the best).

I felt great and I didn’t feel deprived.

Friday afternoon we left to go down to my Father in Law’s house.  It was my first weekend away since I had surgery and I was feeling a bit nervous about it.

I packed up our leftovers, some tofu and some yogurt so I would have stuff to eat.

Things went better than planned, although I felt like I ate too much and could have made better choices.

Friday night we ate the leftovers so that was no big deal.  Saturday morning we went out for brunch at a diner and I had a Mexican omelet with some home fries.  I only ate half of what was on my plate. 

While we were out and about in the afternoon, we decided to stop at Newport Creamery and share an Awful Awful (type of milkshake, Awful Big/Awful Good).  We got a vanilla Awful Awful with chocolate jimmies.  This is one of our traditional Newport foods.  We always share one while we were in Newport.  It actually felt good to share one and have a little with no guilt.

Saturday night, my husband and I went out for appetizers, to the movies and then out for dinner.  I had spinach and artichoke dip for my appetizer, drank lemonade at the movies and then at dinner ordered baked stuffed sole in lobster sauce with hollandaise broccoli.  I ate a little of the broccoli and one piece of the baked stuffed sole (there were three pieces total).  Then my husband wanted to order desert so I had a few bites of milky way cake with ice cream and whipped cream.

It felt really good to eat "normal" food.  I didn’t get sick or get a stomach ache, but I did spend a while in the bathroom once we were home.

The next morning, I everyone was sleeping in and I was hungry, so I ate my leftover two pieces of baked stuffed sole for brunch.  We packed up late in the afternoon and were planning on stopping for an early dinner on the way home, but then my two year old decided that it was time to sleep.

I have to admit that I panicked a little bit.  I had no idea what I could eat at a drive through, but both my husband and I were hungry and I was not going to wake my child up so we could go inside a restaurant. 

I started looking up on my phone fast food menus and found that Wendy’s had a good selection of salads.  I ordered their BLT cobb salad and it was really good.  I also had a grilled chicken snack wrap.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to do with the tortilla and now that I think about it, it was a stupid risk to take since we had a two hour drive ahead of us, but I lucked out and it went down fine.

We stopped about half way for drinks and I really wanted something sweet (after having some cheesecake and desert, that sweet tooth was back with a vengeance) so I got a lowfat strawberry milk.   Well I was either reading too much on my phone or drank that milk too fast because I felt a bit ill the rest of the ride home.  The second we were home, I had to lie down for a little bit.

Once I felt better though, I lost the battle with my mind and had some of the m&m’s I had left in the house from Thanksgiving.  I might have to either throw them out or bring them to work or my parents because they went down too easy and I really don’t want to keep eating them.  I think I just had way too many sugary things after not having anything for a while and I really need to get that back under control.

When I got home, I weighed myself.  I thought I was definitely in for a gain.  I was excited to see a maintain though.  The scale had said 294.5 every time I stepped on it since last Monday and I was really happy with that on Sunday night considering all that I had ate.

So this morning I get up to do my weekly weigh in, expecting to still see 294.5.  I step on the scale and to my surprise it says 292.8!!!!  I couldn’t believe it.  After all that I ate, I still had a loss???  And after seeing the same number every morning for almost a week, I all of a sudden have a loss?  That happened last week too!  How does my body know that I want Monday to be my weekly weigh in??  I was ecstatic!

So now, I’m 4 weeks out of surgery and have lost 13.2 lbs!

I packed my lunch today (no m&m’s), I’m journaling everything today and I’m back to the gym tonight!

I see my surgeon on Thursday and it’s going to be interesting to see what he thinks about whether or not my band needs to be adjusted.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving, Weekend Away and Monday WI

  1. daa_zle says:

    I’m glad you had a good Thanksgiving!!
    I did too. I am slowly starting to eat solids again. I haven’t had any bread yet. But have had a homemade veggie burger, some haddock, I had a little cheese….I see the nutritionist and nurse tomorrow!

  2. lappymeal says:

    Yay for weight loss! Congrats 🙂 You should be very proud of yourself. I hope you are.
    Wendy’s salads are pretty good, though I still prefer McDonalds (they seem smaller to me, better portion control). But then again I eat one EVERY day, so I’m biased.

Leave a Reply

