Just finished my appointment with nutritionist and nurse practitioner

It looks like everything that I have been doing is the correct thing.  We went over what I’ve been eating, how I’ve been feeling.  Have I felt nausea? vomiting? etc.

My one question for the nurtitionist was, "How many calories should I be eating per day?".

So many people I know who have seen nutritionists always come out with some 1200 calories a day diet.

The nutritionist for the program said that she doesn’t want me to focus on calories.

That is a really new concept.  Losing weight and journaling my food, but not focusing on calories.  Even with weight watchers, there was an amount of points that I was supposed to eat every day and I shouldn’t go over that amount.

I wanted to know how much is too much and how much is too little and she couldn’t answer that question for me.

I also said that I was afraid that Dr. B was not going to give me a fill next week because I’m losing well enough without one.  I told her that I want that fill because I don’t feel restricted and I’m afraid I’ll eat too much.

She told me that the option of the fill is always there and if I’m losing then I probably shouldn’t get one.  Again, very scary for me.

I think a lot of what has kept me from overeating is fear right now.  I do get full more quickly than I did before and I’m sure that I would not be able to eat nearly as much food, but at the same time, it’s still freaking me out a bit not to have a fill.  I’ll have to wait and see what happens next week.

I weighed in at 295.5 on her scale, which is only a pound above my scale.  Considering I’m wearing clothes, I was quite happy with that.

I’m now cleared to start more regular food and add things in slowly starting with TURKEY TOMORROW!  I am making Thanksgiving dinner and I already planned sides that would be lapband friendly, but still good for everyone.  I am happy though to be able to have some of the turkey.

After meeting with the nutritionist, I met with the nurse practitioner.

Went over a lot of the same things and then she gave me the Cardiovascular Risk Reduction book for my 12 week class as well as a meditation CD.

She examined me, took my BP (112/70 YAY!), HR, etc.  Everything was fine.

Next step is for me to start my 12 week class next Tuesday.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

