Met up with some WWs friends last night

For over 7 years I have been part of the weight watchers 100+ pounds to lose community on the weight watchers web site.

It has been a fantastic resource for learning about weight loss and of course the weight watchers program.

What has been the best about it though is the fast that everyone on the message board has over 100lbs to lose or has lost over 100lbs.

Everyone who needs to lose weight has their own issues.  I understand that and I don’t discount people who have less to lose at all.  I commend people who stop their weight gain at smaller numbers.

I do feel though when you have such a large number to lose, it’s different.  There are just different concerns and issues.

That is the best thing to me about this message board.  A lot of these people get what life is like for me.  It’s not that my friends/family are not supportive, but none of them has ever had 170lbs to lose.  One of my sisters is 93 lbs!  I have to lose almost two of her!

I’m getting the same feeling from being part of the WLS and Lapband communities on livejournal too.

Monday night I met up with a bunch of the Boston area people that post on the weight watchers board.    It’s not the first time I’ve gone to one of these meet ups.  They are always a lot of fun and it’s great to meet in person these people who have been giving you such great support.

I did end up missing the monthly support group meeting at my hospital, but I really wanted to meet up with these people and it’s only one.  I will go to the next one that they have in January since there is no December meeting.

It was a great time Monday night.  Two of the girls had come in from out of town (NJ and CA) and we had a fantastic dinner together.  There is no judgement about what you are ordering/drinking and it’s just a lot of fun and laughter.

They had a lot of questions about the band because a lot of them have not met anyone who has had it and a few of them even felt my port.  I love that they are still so supportive even though I am doing a different program now.

We had so much fun.  Some of the talk was weight loss talk, but the night was just about laughing and having fun so there were plenty of other topics of conversation as well.  I ended up staying out until midnight and was very tired for work afterwards.

Some people on the weight watchers board have not been so supportive, but I don’t worry about them.  In all aspects of life you aren’t going to get along with everyone.

It makes me look forward to meeting the other people who have had WLS in the heart and wellness classes.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

