I had my surgery three weeks ago today

When I started my presurgery liquid diet, I was 321lbs.

The day I had surgery, I was 306lbs.

Today I weighed in at 294.5.

That is 26.5lbs in 5 weeks!

It’s very exciting.  I know it’s going to slow down as the average weight loss for lapband is about 2lbs a week, but I would be just as happy with that.

As long as the scale goes down, I’m happy.

I do weigh myself every day, but I decided to only record the Monday number as weight can fluctuate so much from day to day.

I still wonder if I’m doing the right thing and eating too much/enough.  I doubt I’m eating too much, but I sometimes wonder if I’m eating too little.

I can’t wait until my appointment with the nutritionist and the nurse at Heart and Wellness on Wednesday to finally be able to discuss what I should be eating.

I am going to try some crackers today.  I got  WASA thin and crispy flatbread crackers.  I’m hoping since they are whole wheat, they will be ok.

I’m also hoping/thinking that I should be advancing to some more solid foods sometime this week since my guide said to start solids one week before my first fill and my appointment for my first fill is a week from Thursday.

I have to say that is the only thing that worries me about my weight loss.  Dr. B said I would get my first fill if I needed it.  I am losing, but hopefully I am not losing too fast to qualify for a fill.  I don’t feel much restriction yet and there have been a few nights where I have ate a lot more than I would think I’m supposed to. 

Maybe it’s because it’s soft solids and it slips through the band easier, maybe I just don’t have enough restriction.  This is why I can’t wait to speak to the nutritionist.  Should I really be able to eat 8oz of fish and almost a cup of carrots (steamed) in one sitting?

Plus, I just want to get that first fill over with.  I’ve heard some people call it no big deal and I’ve heard horror stories.  I’m betting the anticipation is worse than the fill, but at the same time, I am a needlephobe so I’m alway going to be a little freaked out when it comes to getting stuck.

On another note, I’m doing great on the exercise front.

I did Aqua Aerobics on Monday, Aqua Zumba on Wednesday and Friday, Aqua Aerobics on Saturday and Zumba yesterday.  Plus I did house cleaning all day yesterday after going to Zumba so that is activity as well.

This week is going to be a bit weak when it comes to exercise.  Tonight I’m meeting a bunch of my friends from the Weight Watchers 100+ board in Boston.  Tomorrow and Wednesday, I need to finish prepping the house for Thanksgiving.  Thanksgiving I’m cooking all day and Friday I leave for Newport, RI for the weekend.  I might be able to squeeze in a class on Wednesday, but I’m playing that one by ear since I’m hosting Thanksgiving and I need to feel ready.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

