New Favorite Side Dish: Mashed Cauliflower

Since having the surgery, I have been trying a few new things.

My latest is mashed cauliflower.

I’ve never been a cauliflower person.  I can’t even remember the last time I had it.  Probably tried it dipped in some ranch or other dip at someones house in a vegetable plate.

My coworker had it recently though and it did look/smell really good so I decided to try it again.  After all, I just tried tofu again for the first time in years and I ended up liking it, so why not?

To make it:

Cut up a head of cauliflower into florets.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil with a little salt

Add broccoli to boiling water and boil for at least 10 minutes (might want to add a couple of minutes if you are mashing instead of pureeing)

Reserve about a cup of the liquid and then drain the cauliflower in a colander.

You can either add the cauliflower to a blender/food processor and puree, adding liquid as necessary or put the cauliflower back in a pot and mash it with a potato masher, adding liquid as necessary.

Once that is done, you can add salt, pepper, herbs, etc. to it.

I did like it with just salt and pepper, but I liked it even better with a little garlic and parmesan cheese in it.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Favorite Side Dish: Mashed Cauliflower

  1. landorki says:

    mmmmmmmmmmmm……. sounds good!

Leave a Reply

