I can’t believe it’s only been two weeks since my surgery!

The surgery feels like it was a year ago already.  My incisions are healing nicely.  They can still be a teeny bit sore at times, but only when they get bumped.

I have come so far in two weeks.

  • I am down 8lbs since surgery.
  • I am already eating soft solids like white fish, scallops, tuna with light mayo, polenta, etc.
  • I am exercising
  • I’ve been back to work a week already

I just feel great in general and feel really hopeful.

I have to admit that the scale is freaking me out a little because my weight stayed the same since I started soft solids last week and I even gained .6 from my lowest weight of the week.  I know that sometimes happens when you start exercising again from water retention in your muscles, but it is freaking me out.

I have been journaling everything that I eat and the most calories I ate last week were around 1200.  You would think with exercising 3 times and eating 900 – 1200 calories a day, I would be losing like crazy and not gaining.

I think I need to calm down though and try to stay off the scale a bit.  The weight is going to come off, right?

I can’t wait to meet with the nutritionist on 11/24 and get a bit more guidance.  I have no idea what my calories eaten range should really be.

I’m also looking forward to starting the 12 week class through Heart and Wellness.  It’s nice because it’s automatic exercise along with education and support.  Looks like I’ll be starting that 11/30.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I can’t believe it’s only been two weeks since my surgery!

  1. lappymeal says:

    Well, I weigh myself twice a day, but I do try not to obsess on the numbers. I write my numbers down and look at the big picture (usually a week or two). This helps, I think.
    Glad to hear you’re journaling. It has been so helpful for me. I do my daily count on livestrong.com and then post it here along with my feelings. I think it has been good for me to examine it in this way.
    I eat a little less than most WLS peeps. I don’t really exercise and I know that I most likely won’t no matter what, so this is the exchange I make.

  2. daa_zle says:

    2 weeks
    I am at 2 weeks today. I still have not had solid food! I have been having homemade low fat soups, pureed, or I even pureed a vegetable soup the other day just for something different. I thought solid foods were after week 4?

    • nancykerins says:

      Re: 2 weeks
      I had called the nutritionist and talked to her about my eating and since I was doing so well, she told me that I could try soft solids like tofu, white fish, etc.
      I haven’t had any chicken, turkey, beef, etc. yet. I’m waiting until I talk to her again on Wednesday at my appointment.

  3. daa_zle says:

    Frustrated
    I am feeling a bit frustrated. I have been logging my liquids, and have had no more that 600 calories in the last 3 weeks, and the week before was no more than 700 calories. I know it will get better, I start at the wellness center on the 30th too! Or my appt with the Nurse and nutritionalist!

Leave a Reply

