Went back to Zumba today

I don’t think I’ve done a non-water Zumba class since sometime in the Summer and even then, I can’t even remember how long it had been before that.

Part of it was out of fear.  In March I had joined a new gym and I hadn’t taken the classes with those instructors and didn’t know how hard the class would be.  Plus I had gained weight so my cardio was getting harder.

Here I am though, almost two weeks out of surgery and deciding to finally try one of the Y classes.  It did help that one of my friends had gone to this particular class once before and thought it wasn’t too crazy.

So this morning, I got dressed in my gym clothes, dug out my cross trainers (I’ve been doing so many water classes I think they were gettin ga big dusty) and heading off to the 9 AM Zumba.

It was a really good class.  I found it to be more aerobic than what I think of Zumba, but I still liked it.

Once thing that I need to get used to is how competitive people are for floor spots.  You move for a second and someone tries to steal your spot.  It’s so odd.  5 years at Healthworks and I never experienced that.

The instructors moves weren’t too hard to follow and it looks like most of the class just knew what to do so she probably doesn’t switch songs too much, which is a good thing.

I sweated my butt off and had some fun.  I think it will be a lot more fun once I start to get to know her moves. 

I’ll definitely be going again next Sunday. 

The instructor has another class on Mondays, which is a good thing because it’s during babysitting hours.  I am trying to vary between water activity and land activity so I think my schedule is going to be:

Sunday – Zumba
Monday – Water Aerobics or Zumba if my husband is away and I need something during babysitting hours
Tuesday – Class at Heart and Wellness
Wednesday – Aqua Zumba
Thursday – Zumba
Friday – Aqua Zumba
Saturday – Water Aerobics

Now don’t get my wrong, I don’t expect to work out 7 days a week every week.  This is just what I would do on each day.  With having a 2 year old and a husband that travels, my goal is to exercise at least 5 days a week right now.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Went back to Zumba today

  1. daa_zle says:

    Thank you for inspiring me to exercise! I got on the treadmill for a mile this morning.. it felt good, slow, only 3MPH but good!

Leave a Reply

