Honeymoon period and Exercising

Isn’t it funny how in the first couple of weeks, a new "diet" always seems easier because you are all excited and motivated?

It’s a total honeymoon period.  I always think this feeling is going to last and then a couple of days/weeks/months down the line, I lose the "newness" and go back to my old, bad habits of eating.

Of course I’m thinking this time is going to be different.  I always think that this time is different.

It is a little different though because I am trying something new.  I’ve never tried to lose weight with weight loss surgery before.  I’ve never had a band around my stomach making me feel full faster.  I’ve never had the opportunity to tighten that band when I feel I need to it.  This all makes me hopeful again that maybe I can be healthy.  I’m feeling really good so far and I hope I can keep up this feeling.

It’s been so long since I was at a healthy weight, that I can even imagine it.  I think it’s been about 15 years since I’ve even been under 250!

I’ve been the fat person so long that sometimes I’m afraid that I’ll lose myself if I lose the weight.  I think I’ve been hiding behind my weight for a long time.

It’s one of the major reasons why I’ve been in therapy for so long.  To work on those head issues and see if I can "fix" what keeps me from being successful.  I plan on continuing with my personal therapist through out my lapband journey even though I will have support groups to go to through my hospital.

On another note, I went to water aerobics class last night after being cleared for exercise earlier in the day.  It felt so good to go.  The instructor told me that she could already see a difference.

This morning I went to my aqua zumba class, which is my favorite!  It’s so much fun!

I think I’m going to take tomorrow off because I have a hair appointment in the morning and it’s no fun to mess that up after someone else does it for you.

I will go to Zumba on Sunday morning though.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

