Day 5 of liquids and I’m still going strong…

Ok, a lot has been going on the last couple of days.

Wednesday night I was wicked bummed because my husband was away and the girl who was going to babysit my son was sick.  I was a little terrified about being home alone so long before going to sleep on the liquid diet.  I had originally planned on going to Aqua Zumba so help keep me busy, but I couldn’t find anyone else to watch my son.

I keep it together at least and only had liquids.

Then Thursday, I see my surgeon and they give me my surgical packet with the instructions for my liquid diet.   So I thought I should be following the same as the post-op liquid diet.  My surgeon was happy that I was at least compliant with that and said it was fine to start the real liquid diet now.  He knew it wasn’t my fault and at least I was trying.

So out the window goes the really delicious tomato basil soup I found.  At least that can come back into play post surgery.

I can only have broth, not soups.  I can have suger free jello, sugar free popcicles, tomato soup (but not every day).

3 protein shakes a day of only milk and protein powder.

I can have one serving or yogurt or fat free/sugar free pudding a day.

I can have one small serving of fruit a day.

8oz of 100% fruit juice a day.

This morning I did make it to Aqua Zumba after dropping my son off at daycare.  I love that I can go to the 8AM class on work from home Fridays.

Then I had a visit from the company that supplies my CPAP to change out my mask.  I have not been able to sleep with that thing on!

Last, I had an appointment with the pulmonologist.

Suprisingly, when she shared the data from the CPAP machine with me, I was more compliant than I thought I was.  I had at least tried it 10 out of 14 days and average time was 2 hours and 51 minutes.  I’m not compliant, but she said that it showed real effort at least.  I told her about my issues with my mask and how I got a new one this morning.  She was happy with that and happy that I am making effort.  The goal is to get it up to an average of 4 hours a night.

This weekend my husband is still away, my parents are away and my two closest friends are sick.  So it’s just me and my toddler.

I’m nervous about staying on liquids this weekend.  I know the key is going to be keeping myself busy.  I think one of the days I’ll take my son to the zoo.

Wish me luck!

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 5 of liquids and I’m still going strong…

  1. lappymeal says:

    May I add you? I was banded on 7/27 and I am always looking for new lapband friends! Seems like there are so few of us.

Leave a Reply

